Nasty women unite around t-shirts

in #art7 years ago

Hey Steemers!

Happy Thursday! I'm excited to share some photos from a shoot that just got released today on the blog Clever LA. This was a collaboration I did with two brands @love_faustine and @fairseason. I was so excited to work with these two when they asked me. They're both donating a portion of their proceeds for every vintage, custom printed/embroidered tees, and sweatshirts bought to Planned Parenthood, the ACLU, and Downtown Women's Center here in LA.

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (554 of 1055)-Edit.jpg

I met Valerie, the owner of Love Faustine, when I first moved to Los Angeles. We took some photos of some of her spring tee's. It was a lot of fun and I'm still working on shoots with some of the girls I met from that day. Valerie and I also got along really well on set. She was a great person to bounce posing ideas off of and to have help art direct on set. I love when people share their input, I love collaborating with people-it's one of my favorite parts about doing a photoshoot. When she asked me to be apart of this shoot, and mentioned that it would be an amazing team of all ladies, I couldn't say no.

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (215 of 1055).jpg

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (254 of 1055).jpg

We had 5 models, 1 make up artist, and 1 hair stylist, which I was like 'are you sure you don't want two make up artists?' My friend and super talented make up artist @francescamartin.makeup did all the girls make up in record time and it looked amazing! (Check out her IG to see all her amazing work and soon I'll get her on Steemit!)

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (736 of 1055).jpg

The inspiration for the shoot was 90's supermodel group shots. We used a lot of Fair Season's amazing vintage denim to really capture that vibe and did a lot of cool group shots with the girls.
Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (12 of 1055).jpg

Once we were all set we pilled into the car and went off to our location which was a basketball court in Washington Square Park. When we arrived my heart sank a bit, the whole location was in direct bright sunlight, it was like 2pm when we started. Normally I can make direct sunlight work, but with all the girls there was definitely a challenge to make sure people weren't squinting or being just straight up blinded by the light (blinded by the liiggghhht-any Bruce Springsteen fans out there?) I started off having them face the sun in hopes of getting the whole court behind them, but it just wasn't working out. I flipped them around so their backs were against the sun and that helped with the shadows, and saving their eyes, but I wasn't really able to get the whole court anymore. Sometimes you just have to change direction and make it work as best you can.

Once the sun started to go down we went across the street to a liquor store parking lot and I took some bad ass photos of all the girls looking powerful and determined, these are some of my favorites. Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (949 of 1055).jpg

At one point the owner of Fair Season asked me to take other photos that weren't of group shots. She wanted something more abstract, which I feel like I understood what she was looking for, but not sure if I captured exactly what she wanted. She wanted some more awkward posing and tight shots of the girls in motion, which is exactly what I want to add to my portfolio. I felt like it would be easy to capture, but I wasn't super happy with what I got once I started editing, so just something for me to push myself to get.

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (782 of 1055).jpg

The two brands are doing a give away via Instagram and you can also read an interview with both shop owners here

Love Faustine x Fair Season 5-2017 (1013 of 1055).jpg

Hope you like them!

Sort:  

Amazing photos..They look so natural and cool.

Thank you! They do look so cool !

Have you considered a reflector for shoots like these, takes the heavy shadows out from under chins? Great shots.

You know I have a small one and I always forget to bring it. Thank you for the tip, I'm going to bring it along next time!

They're gorgeous! :D Love the pics!

Thank you so much!

I love photos of women looking strong, confident and badass! Keep 'em coming!

Thank you! I'm so glad that came across! Don't worry they will :)

Small world, i actually know one of the models, i went to highschool with her. I love funny connections like that, but great work otherwise. Look forward to seeing more from you. All the best.

What! That's crazy! Who? Such a small world!

That's what i'm saying haha, but Bridgett. I think she was a year or two above me.

whattt that's crazy! Bridgett is awesome!

Not sure if she would remember me but if you see her say hi to her for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52