Plugged in (Original fractal image)

in #art8 years ago


Click the image to enlarge

"Plugged in"

Here is another of my 3D fractal creations rendered with MandelBulb 3D. This one uses a combination of 3 formulas; Amazing Box (For 5 iterations) and then a Quadrat3D with a ZRadius of 1 followed by another Quadrat3D with a ZRadius of 0.

It takes a while to render because of the reflections, and because all of the thin wires require quite a low raystep multiplier and stepwidth limiter to stop them breaking up.

Sort:  

Wow. It looks amazing:) By a while how long do you mean? I remember back in my school days I used to use 3DStudioMax and it would take a few hours to render but obviously the quality then was nowhere near what you have here. Awesome work. It must have taken you ages to construct the scene.

About 5 hours to render at my preferred resolution of 8192x6144. I render at this resolution and then scale down to get some decent anti-aliasing.

OK it is about the same I suppose but back when I used to 3d modelling the resolutions were tiny too! 5 hours for 8K is not bad.

Beautiful work, I'm going to download MandelBulb and see what that is all about! Thanks for including the link!

Thanks! And it's cool you want to try it out. If you have any questions about the software just let me know :-)

Yeah, looks like I need to do a bit of research into tutorials and the like, any that you recommend?

Can't really recommend any as I've been using it for a while and I'm not sure what resources I used when I was starting out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63