Desert of Skulls (Original fractal image)

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Click the image to enlarge

"Desert of Skulls"

This piece is another of my MandelBulb 3D fractal creations. This time using just the Amazing Surf formula in Julia mode. You can get some great organic shapes if you play with the AS parameters for long enough, and a lot of the search space can generate bone like structures interacting with the rest of the surface.

I've added a little noise for a film grain look and some vignette in post process to add to the bleak feel. I did try it in black and white, but I love the contrast of the dark red with the cream, so I decided to leave it in colour.

Sort:  

Hell yeah. This is so cool.

Thank you. I might do an animated version with the camera rotating around the central skull if I get time.

Okay, animation rendering in progress. It's gonna take a while though. I'm rendering 800 frames at 1920x1080 with 3x oversampling and each frame will probably take 10 minutes to render.

Looks like the frames are taking around 15 minutes each. 18/800 complete 8.14 days to go!

Could have easily titled this "Skulls of Mars", very cool and alien looking.

Yeah, could have been Mars. The sand is rather red!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59943.96
ETH 2421.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43