You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Art? - Part 1 - Introduction

in #art7 years ago

Wow, great reply, Matt. I do think that the question comes down to "good art" vs. "art," but my hopes are that through this discussion I can possibly nail down some elements of what makes "good art" by defining first, what "art" is. Once the criteria of "good art" is established, then I don't think one can call anything art that they feel is art - or at least get anyone to agree with them.

I look forward to hearing more insight from you!

Sort:  

But if 'criteria' for good art were ever nailed down, anyone could make good art instantly. And it would become valueless and meaningless. So it's Catch 22 - the reason we have good art, is because it's impossible to nail down. :)

I respectfully disagree: I don't think that by understanding what aspects that make great art it will make it so that anyone can do it. I think that there are intangibles like having a vision and the ability to execute that vision accurately that even if defined not everyone can do it.

Nor do I think by defining something it makes it meaningless. IMO, some things that pass for art these days is extremely meaningless, and I believe it may be that way as a result of not defining what's "good art".

I appreciate your input and hope you continue in future posts - "iron sharpens iron" after all! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37