Eric

in #art6 years ago

image

Eric
2016
Oil on Canvas
SOLD.

This is my grandfather. My father's father. In the videos he looks like such a charmer. The life of the party. Chizzled features, sulking eyes, and always wearing a great hat. In many of his photos he is cradling a lady that isn't my grandmother. He is a flirt, and he is good at it. He makes a good living travelling the world working on the oil rigs, abandoning his boys to do so. He drank and smoked a lot. The roaring 20s. My dad said the only time he saw him sober was when he went to church. My dad found him dead, his head in his bowl of soup. His heart stopped at age 50, my dad 15. My dad became a minister and has never had a drink in his life.
#art #artist #epigenetics #trauma #ancestors #indigenous #pain #1920s #roaring20s #contemporaryart #women #motherhood #lineage #histoey #canada #painting #artcollector #artstudio #toronto #torontoartist #ocad #thesis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41