Original acrylic painting on canvas, 16 x 20", titled, The Still Bayou, by @mongoosely

in #art6 years ago

tsb.png
Hey Steemies! Suffer no longer....I am back! I seriously hope you did not miss me too much. I've been working non-stop in my traditional job...I even agreed to do a double shift on my day off which had me toiling for 8 days straight. I managed jogging sessions before and after some shifts, even managed to socialize a bit with friends.

Anyways here's a painting I created when I just started out painting, circa 2013 - 2014. It's easy for anyone to paint the sky blue; painting the clouds is a whole new different kind of frustration. Especially when painting from imagination. You would think it's a cinch, but it's not...in my experience. In any case, the clouds can be any shape or in abundance: it's making them fluffy and light is my annoyance and dilemma, thus far.

In more than one sitting, The Still Bayou, came together very slowly. I propped up mountain-caps against the sky then became discombobulated what to do next so I abandoned the painting for a while. Sometime later, I added the dense trees and highlighted the trunks in certain places.

The flowery shrubs at the foot of the trees came easy. I painted in the water while thinking of green algae that lived in the water that produced a green hue of sorts. The bank on the right proved a bit difficult to come by but more-so the path and trees on the left.

Checkout my huge boulders up front. I think they're awesome: they do look like heavy stones, don't they?

I've never been to or seen a Bayou in all of my life only by watching TV in the past. It's only after I finished this painting, Bayou popped into my mind, so I googled, Bayou, and Lo and Behold, I painted one.

I can bet somewhere on this glorious planet, there's a bayou that looks exactly like this one.

Thoughts? Comments? Critique?
Pop 'em below and I will read them.

Thank you for visiting my Blog and I wish you all the success with your own.

FOLLOW, if you will...I have lots more art and poetry to come!
I would highly appreciate an UPVOTE
If you RESTEEMED that would be awesome.

Sort:  

Lovely painting you have got here.
Do continue to use our #artzone tag to stand a chance to win our 100% upvote

Congrats @mongoosely, You just won 25% upvote from @artzone.curators
Curated by @jacobite for @artzone

You are awesome....thank you!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Love Victor Pinchuk...great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59231.61
ETH 2996.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78