Apparitions, Ghosts and Grottos, mixed media on 130 gsm paper, by @mongoosely

in #art6 years ago (edited)

apparitions-ghosts-and-grottos-denise-morgan.jpg
Good evening, STEEMIANS! How are you? I hope this post finds you happy and well.

Here's one of my favorite paintings that I created around Halloween fever, 2017. And as you've gathered by now, when I begin an abstract painting, I have no concept in mind whatsoever.

On this particular occasion...with a childlike heart...I played around with assorted colors and shapes by using brushes and a palette knife... scraping paint in different areas.

And as per usual, I took a snapshot of my unfinished painting, uploaded it to my desktop to scrutinize it for ideas.

Lo and behold, I saw little phantoms and shadows and dark entrances/doorways/caverns. This is where I enhanced the painting by emboldening lines and shapes. Also to make the composition more cohesive, I connect random splotches of paint.

If you're an upcoming artist, you should try this technique. You see so much more than you would just looking at the canvas. You definitely get an alternative perspective and most likely, a title will pop into your head, ergo: APPARITIONS, GHOSTS & GROTTOS!

Try it sometime....

Here it is in hanging
grotto living room.jpg
And here it is on a pillow
grotto pillow.jpg
Annnnnnnnnnd here it is printed on a tote bag
grotto tote bag.jpg

I hope you enjoyed viewing my art.
Thank you for visiting my Blog and I wish you all the success with your own.

FOLLOW, if you will...I have lots more art and poetry to come!
I would highly appreciate an UPVOTE
If you RESTEEMED that would be awesome.

Just to inform you, I sell affordable, quality prints of my artwork on various products: mugs, pillows, framed, etc. Click the link and check out my body of work here --->>> https://2-denise-morgan.pixels.com/
https://shopvida.com/collections/denise-morgan

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78