My First Story With Graffiti!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi All,

You've inspired me with photos, and before I saw them I had no idea what I was going to write about. I do the Airbnb thing during the high season here in Chile, and one of my guests was the enormously talented Caleb Aero. I'll put his URL in at the end of the story. Anyway, I live in Viña del Mar, which is right on the Pacific Ocean just North of Valparaiso. Viña is a resort town, known for being well-kept and tidy, whilst Valparaiso is more a gritty, low-down port city with the pick pockets and lowlife that give other lowlife a bad name. However, it HAS got its good points, and one of them is its community of artists---and the massive amount and quality of the graffiti on the walls.

Caleb and his wonderful consort joined a local group who had permission to paint a mural on a blank wall. Now, those blank walls are pretty gosh darned RARE in Valparaiso, what with all the people painting them, so to get permission to do a wall is a big deal. In the future I'll post more cool graffiti, but the thing about Caleb's work that makes it so cool is that he paints it all with CANS of spray paint. Unbelievable the detail he gets! Here are three perspectives of the same painting. Caleb's part of the group effort includes the baby and waves, you'll probably be able to tell it apart from the others...

caleb art 3.JPG
Caleb art1.JPG
caleb art2.JPG
Here's the wide view!
FullSizeRender.jpg

If you enjoy Caleb's art, you might want to check out his website:
http://www.calebaero.com/website/index.html

Sort:  

Me too! I've never seen anyone do such an awesome job with a can of spray paint! Er, maybe 20 cans...

Congratulations @mongo-hampshire! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you, does this count as a comment?

Nice graffiti !!b awesome!!

i follow u ..u follow me

Hi, is there any way to edit a post? I missed a pic!

Nevermind, got it!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61851.26
ETH 3412.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48