B Grade Art of B Movie Posters: An experiment in mixed media

in #art6 years ago

Just for fun, I've been re-creating movie posters of the movies my friend Mike and I review on our podcast. The images were at first created with the media I could find around the office at work, so I was limited to fine point Sharpie pens and a small selection of highlighters.

Keep in mind, I don't really consider myself an artist so much as I just do this for fun and to help relieve stress.

Children of the Corn


18 Children of the corn.jpg

Teeth


19 Teeth.jpg

Dead Alive


20 Dead Alive.jpg

Maximum Overdrive


21 Maximum Overdrive.jpg

After a while, I started taking it a little more seriously and started adding in some color pencils to some of the pieces.

Barbarella


22 Barbarella.jpg

Drop Dead Gorgeous


23 Drop Dead Gorgeous.jpg

Slither


24 Slither.jpg

My overall goal for these posters was to try to capture the feel of the original posters (copy them as close as possible) as fast as possible. I made most of these while live streaming on Twitch.

Gutterballs


25 Gutterballs.jpg

Slimeball Bowl O Rama


25 Slimeball.jpg

Right around here, I started to realize that a lot of posters are just copies of each other. Here are two ensemble cast posters in a row, but definitely won't be the last.

Phantasm


26 Phantasm.jpg

Tromeo and Juliet


27 Tromeo and Juliet.jpg

... and here are two posters of closeups of faces.

Fight Club


29 fight club.jpg

Total Recall


30 total recall.jpg

With Total Recall, I started to experiment with paint to help highlight the eyes, but I use it later to add texture.

If you've made it this far, I would LOVE to hear what you think, and I'd really like to check out your art as well if you have any.

There will be more posters to come, so stay tuned.

Sort:  

I absolutely love all of these.

If you do more live streams when you draw more, I suggest looking into @Dlive.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Sometimes a limitation like only having sharpies on hand can produce surprisingly stark results!

I love how you choose to go with notebook paper as the background for these. Gives them all a very grounded feel. I think your Gutterballs piece has to be my favorite!

thanks! i thought about switching to a legitimate art sketchbook, but it just doesn't feel right :)

i had SOOO much trouble with that Gutterballs hand. It's one of my favorites though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85