Digital to Acrylic Dragon Painting progress and live streaming on Instagram

in #art7 years ago


I'm currently in the process of doing an acrylic painting of my digital dragon head that I posted last week.

I did the first color pass using Burnt Sienna to lay down the shapes, highlights and shadows. This is like an advanced sketch, building on the pencil line-work I had drawn out onto the board.
Since the feel of the painting is quite warm the Burnt Sienna helps to get rid of the white of the primer. If I want any white highlights later I'll add them in at the end when the painting is done.

The next color layer I did was to bring in the purpley grey which makes up a large part of the painting. I'm still building up shapes layer by layer, laying down a pass of color instead of getting caught up in details.
There is a fire casting light underneath the dragon's chin so that area will be the brightest. It will have a lot of detail on the transition area of the light into shadow.

The painting is 40cmx 60 cm acrylic on masonite.

I'm live streaming my painting sessions at night on my Instagram profile, Usually between 20:30 and 23:00 UTC+02:00
Lynton Levengood Instagram
Stop in and say Hi if you like.

Cheers
Lynton

Sort:  

You have some of the best artwork on the platform in my opinion. I highly suggest adding more pics to how you achieve your final result, with a explanation below each pic or linking a video of the process. I would love to see your artwork earning better rewards.

@orignalworks

Thank you, and thank you for your suggestions. I will definitely look into doing that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49