Hellboy bust-handmade engagement ring box

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Any fans of Hellboy here? Here is the bust I sculpted for a client. It was going to be one of the kind collectible with the hidden compartment for engagement ring. The lower jaw open like a drawer and ring is resting on the tongue. It add some humour to the sculpture. 🙂

I sculpted the whole thing using 3 packs of Super Sculpey Firm on top of aluminium wire and foil armature. To create void inside of his head, I used small brick of styrofoam embedded inside the model during sculpting. I could melt it when baking finished polymer clay model. It worked very well, when I cut open and removed the jaw, I used heat gun to melt rest of the styrofoam inside the head and easily clean it with knife and sandpaper. That gave me square space inside with smooth walls. The red fabric on sides is sliding on the walls and the magnets embedded in model keep the face in closed position.

I didn’t want the smooth the surface on this one. I imagined this sculpture as stone or metal bust so added the cracks and tool marks. I painted it to look like marble using airbrush, drybrush, spattering. It was so much fun to sculpt and paint and the scale (20cm tall) and weight of finished product.

I wanted to keep this for myself or make a mold and cast it, so I could experiment more. I didn’t do that and I regret it now. It will be one of the kind piece. The guy who ordered it, already asked the question and she loved it and said yes. Mission complete . If you would like to order custom made ring box or model you can’t find in the shops, visit my website http://themodelmaker.net/hellboy-engagement-ring-box/ and leave the comment under the post you like the best. I will come back to you if you leave your email address. If you don’t need it, you can always upvote, resteem and follow me to show your support. Thank you for doing that, it will help me buy more clay and experiment in the future.

Sort:  

THIS IS AMAZING!!! That is sooo cool.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks. It was also cool to sculpt. Feel free to resteem it if you like

We would add you to our daily compilation post. You can see an example by checking out our page @ocd

That would be awsome! Thank you very much.

That was really nicely done!

This post has received a 1.00 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @mitchhunter.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Very original :)

Thank you. It was inspired by Ivar-L, artist from Estonia in case if you want to buy his resin bust

Nice interpretation of the character , resteemed and voted.

Thank you. I was very inspired by Ivar-L, artist from Estonia so the credit cant go entirely to me :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Really cool! :D

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65