Pour painting process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I did another pour painting today. I chose to use a double layered surface to capture what happens outside of a typical pour style painting. When I started pouring I realized some of the most interesting elements to the pours were getting lost by falling off of the canvas onto the surface of the table. Here are some pictures explaining the process

^ The first step in my process is gluing the surfaces together. In this case a 5"x 7" and a 12" x 12" wooden painting board primed with gesso.

^ Next I select my colors. I put some of each color into a cup. I then add acrylic pouring medium (to minimize cracking) and liquid silicone (to enhance the "cells" and other exciting effects that come from the separation of the acrylic paints).

^ I then mix everything together in separate cups. Sometimes I add a little water to achieve an ink-like texture with the paint.
I then pour some of the paint from each cup into a separate cup. This creates layers of paint in top of one another. Time to pour this onto the layered board.

^ Now it is time for the fun part! Releasing the pour.

^ Pull the cup off.

^ Go with the flow! This is after some manipulation of the surfaces. I rotated the piece as the paint mixture flowed to create new cells and expand the pigments away from each other. I also use a butane torch to encourage some popping of smaller bubbles to create cell-like effects. I let some of the mixture overflow the edges of the painting surface.

Stay tuned for the final product!

Sort:  

Cool! How long does it take? Like how fast does it flow over the canvas?

The set up takes about 30 min. After you remove the cup and let the paint flow it goes really quickly. In about 5 min it has spread as far as it is going to. You can still manipulate it slightly by rotating the canvas, but I have found that it is best to just stop messing after about 5-7 min and let it start drying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47