Lazy Days in Cambodia - Painting and Supplies

in #art7 years ago

20170222_105245edit.jpg

Quality art supplies are nearly nonexistent in Cambodia. While I was painting portraits for some extra cash, I would buy a pad of the thickest paper I could find. The real watercolor paper was very expensive, so I would look for the "multipurpose" brands instead. I happened to find some ok non-watercolor paper for around $1.50 I believe. It came with 20 pages, but I would cut them in half so it'd last longer.

20170208_140048edit.jpg

Being that it's very challenging to get a fair salary with reasonable working hours and conditions in Cambodia, I was pretty happy to see the painting gig going well. Of course, after a few weeks of studying people's faces non-stop, it became increasingly difficult for me to pick up a brush and set out on a new commission. Having to paint something drab out of necessity day after day was definitely uninspiring and took a lot of fun out of the process for me. Overall, I don't think portrait painting is for me although I like how a lot of them came out!

20170128_104256edit.jpg

Sort:  

I really appreciate it! <3

Thank you very much!

Great work ..keep posting..good luck.

Thank you!

Keep posting,i liked that..good luck..

I really appreciate that!

You are doing good...keep it up...good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32