MONET And The Impressionists #2: MARY CASSATT (1844-1926)

in #art8 years ago

'I am independent! I can live alone and I love to work.' ~Mary Cassatt~


Source: marycassatt.org / oils / The Young Girls / 1885

When Edgar Degas first saw Mary Cassatt's work he invited her to exhibit with the Impressionists.

Cassatt happily accepted the invitation and said 'At last, I could work with absolute independence without considering the opinion of a jury. I had already recognized who were my true masters. I admired Manet, Courbet and Degas. I hated conventional art and from that moment on began to live.'

Cassatt was the daughter of a rich American businessman of French ancestry. She studied art in Paris and finally settled there in 1867.

She was only one of three women Impressionists to ever exhibit in America, and like her good friend Degas, she focused on the human figure. She loved success with her sensitive depictions of mothers with their children.


Source: marycassatt.org /Mother and Two Children / Oils

Unlike many of her fellow Impressionists, Cassatt never struggled financially. She also encouraged many of her rich American friends to invest in the Impressionism movement, and many of these Impressionist paintings can still be seen in America today.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

'The Young Girls' is my favourite Impressionism painting.

I'm going to admit here that Mary Cassatt is my favourite Impressionist painter.

She painted with a natural ease that created this beauty.

(Her hasty brushstrokes give an air of spontaneity.)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50