Can You Name A Piece Of Art That Inspires A Negative Feeling Or Terror Within You?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

For me Francisco Goya's 'Saturn Devouring His Son' is pretty hairy!


Love to hear your scary piece of art in the comments section below??

@mindhunter



Source


Sort:  

I knew Bosch would be in there somewhere @richq11 - his Triptych is well scary!

I thought about posting that but couldn't find a pic that you could see enough. I have The Garden of Earthly Delights (poster)!

That is one scary choice @richq11! Thanks for the contribution :) ... or not! :(

TheScream
Source

The Scream by Edvard Munch has always given me the chills. Sums up how utterly alone we can be in times of inner torment.

The original scary! This one is a bit weird! Caravaggio: Judith Beheading Holofernes!

Cornelius Galle der Ältere's version of the same.

The original ISIS video??

Looks like it! Poor Judith ... it looks like she need a sharper knife! ;)

http://www.lukechueh.com/ I love his low brow art and his use of a benign teddy bear in all sorts of graphic images just makes it all the more sweet.

I would name this piece 'Scientifically Imprisoned Childhood!'

He does a whole series dedicated to Dante's inferno.

Dante's Inferno reloaded/retorched! ;)

I know we are "supposed" like high brow art with technical skill and sublime beauty but he's just so quirky I cant help myself.

Goya is creepy indeed, I still remember getting chills from the first time I saw his stuff during a college art lecture. Salvador Dali also makes my skin crawl. Here's one of his more grotesque pieces:

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTWHNzxHtfSi7aWhB2DvZfdAal7s8KkzwDP57EymRpkW0GUZ2y0Yw

It's called "Soft Construction with Boiled Beans"

Goya blew my mind the first time I saw him too. Thanks for that Dali one - I'd never seen it before. Scary surrealism indeed :(

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Gustave Dore's 'Judgement Dernier'


harshforms.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/gustave-dore-la-sainte-bible-jugement-dernier.jpg

This one is very ghoulish @lifeworship - I actually quite like it :)

Dore is one of my favorites.

cant think of one, but i agree with you on this one.. looks like a piece of art hannibal lecter would've had up lol

It looks like Hannibal Lecter with BAD GAS!! Ha ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34