Sincerest Form of Flattery: Intro to Pen and Ink

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, currently I used nibs and ink to copy and modify a pen-and-ink image from a master named Virgil Finlay.

Virgil Finlay's illustrations are just amazing, I love the composition of his pen and ink illustrations and how fine his drawings are, therefore, I chose one of his illustrations and added my own ideas on it.

The following picture is my illustration.

Baobao-Li-18Spr-ILLU701-Powers-A1-SincerestFormofFlattery.jpg

And this is the original illustration by Virgil Finlay.
6080646902_b410b273e5_o.jpg

I think the most difficult part of drawing process is that you have to be patient forever, such as stippling and hatching different lines, but the assignment helped me to identify masters of pen-and-ink techniques and analyze their work, to manipulate a popular image in a way that brings new meaning to it.

Sort:  

This is so cool and i love the face in the fire. The grass is really awesome too because it seems to have 2 faces; 1 being blowing grass and 1 being wavering flames. The bunnies are really cool too, gives it a creepy cartoon feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59