Self-portrait with a frame of worms

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Self-portrait with a frame of worms, digital painting, 2009

Took a late nap so I'm up now after midnight thinking of something to do. I decided to go through some old files again and found this self-portrait that I missed from my post back in fall. I tend to make a self-portrait few years or so, I guess it's like a moment of reflection guided by some sense of tradition perhaps, and a good practice overall. This one was made with windows paint on 27th of April 2009, 18:59 if the stamp on the file is to be trusted. This one has an unusually natural color scheme, (still far from realistic, though) for my work. I don't remember what I was thinking back then, but that frame is supposed to give an idea of squiggling worms that flow from my neck or the other way around. Yeah...

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Do you know Otto Dix. He has this ugliness that might appeal to you. It's brutal expressionism.

Oh,yes. Back in the school days, I had a great tutor for my final work who recommended Dix with George Grosz and a lot of others. Now that I think about it this was actually two years prior to that so, plenty of time to have been "corrupted by the institution" :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32