Saturday, Ink and metal

in #art6 years ago (edited)

inksat.jpg

Obset

pen and ink on paper
2018 2017

Here's a drawing from this afternoon. I was playing with words trying to come up with title and obset came out. If it was a real word what do you think it would mean? I haven't yet figured out when it is a good time to talk about the drawing itself with freeflowing work like this. when it is fresh it is like open wound and after a while it's in oblivion. It's not a focused attempt to make something particular; just being with shredded thoughts and feelings and assembing lines as you go, reacting to things in your head and shapes that come to paper by purpose or accident


Then for the metal part. I did go ahead and got something more from ebay to oint my wrecked soul last week. Let me just show you:

DSC_0047.JPG

It came in a nice folder

sm2.jpg

with a descriptions of the coin inside covers

sm3.jpg

This is a 1979 1000 lire coin from San Marino themed European Unity. It is designed by Italian artist Emilio Greco(1913-1995) who is known for his monumental bronze sculptures in museums around the world -according to wikipedia.

smx.jpg

For me the name didn't ring a bell at the time, but i've very likely seen his works while visiting in St.Petersburg and Rome. I was just looking for something nice to buy and this one caught my eye. I actually lost a bidding on the first one i saw, but this one was cheaper and in nicer condition plus it came with the folder, so i was quite happy.

sm4.jpg

Here's the backside with the denominations. I think it's quite a pretty coin with something pleasingly modest about it. How do you like it?

While we are on the topic of art and coins, i'd like you to check out this post by @phelimint:

https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

There is a voting going on for what is to be a Steem silver round for 2018. My design is also there (as seen below) and if you like, i would appreciate if you go and give it an upvote in the comments under that post.

shell.png

Ok, thanks for reading, i hope you enjoyed this one and have a nice day.

Sort:  

The post is undoubtedly good maybe I'll rate 4.9/5 well the most importantly i would like to no more about the coins the coins are just to good i would like have one by the way most more about the coins nah anytime very soon if possible

Thank you. As it happens i couldn't help my self and got something else off ebay, i'll write about that once it arrives

I would call it : Midnight pearl (the drawing above)
Love it

Thank you, that would be a nice name

I remember this but it wasn't made of silver

It's a good looking coin still, i may have to get one now :D

This is great man, nice art and cool new coin! Love your design too, glad your promoting it to your audience.

Thank you. not getting too much attention but got to try. Can i ask, about how much does it cost to have a coin minted?

It's about $5000 to just have the dies made. Then each coins costs (spot value of silver +2-10$ depending on finish and features)

Thank you, that is helpful. I was thinking of doing something for an art project but that might be few years away.

You are good at drawing.
I must commend you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54