Painting Green Fall

in #art7 years ago

painting.jpg

Friday was slow on work as i had cleared my tasks earlier, so got to have some studio time instead. I've been sticking to my selfmade paints for now as it is quite pleasing work with, however I realized i am missing some key colors like alizarin crimson and good yellows so i am little bit limited in my choices. Of couse i have some in tubes, if i choose to do so, but for these i am going with what i can mix from pigments.
I opened my two greens i had ordered(why i order two greens but only yellow ochre...i know) chromium oxide and the Brentonico green earth.

pigment.jpg
The chromium oxide is just incredible in it's powder form

mixing1a.jpg
and you can tell it is pretty intense stuff

_the Brentonico on the other hand was pretty light in powder but as it get mixed in the linseed oil it became very dark and rich _

mixing2a.jpg

I made a video from the first phase to see how it paints. I put all of my paint in a little jar and poured my turpentine and some oil in the bottom, i think this works pretty good for me. I normally jus pour my liquids on my palette and there is some waste.

prog1.jpg

I started with the the wonderful Brentonico green, i was quite liberal with the use
and make big beautiful clumps and soon ran out of the paint

prog2.jpg

Then i took on the chromium, and as soon as i made the first stroke i felt i had made a mistake, but i decide to carry on see how it goes - I had a so much of the paint ready. The diffrent pigments behave very differently and this one i'm going to be more careful with in the future.
bruh.jpg

Next i had some burned sienna stashed from before conveniently to a freezer bag. I poured my turps straight in there and painted from there. I think i can not fully recommend this solutioon, so i think i will get some real aluminum tubes in the
future; meanwhile i keep exploring options.

prog3.jpg
I pick a spot and the painting grows from there

prog4.jpg
organic and impulsively without clear direction, spreading like a disease :P

prog5.jpg

The painting is getting some what dull at this point and i need to introduce my yellow ochre. So maybe you remember i have ambition to use some of the pigment as raw in the process, but there isn't quite a good way to make it stick. First i tried applying it with brush and smearing some in but in addition this time is i use my spatula that has some leftover paint on it to dab the pigment and then press that hard on the wet canvas. It seems to stick pretty ok, though some of it will fall off. I might be in trouble when i remove the canvas from the wall.

detas3.jpg

scraping paint on and off with the spatula

prog6.jpg

Bringit it back a little with the chromium green and then dabbing some more yellow ochre pigment on, making some layers and trying to make the painting work.

detas2.jpg

I'm very much into these little events that happen on the canvas

painting.jpg

Finally i use some thin, very oily burned umber paint to make these little streaks to break the surface. I Sometimes it is hard to say if a work is finished or not, there is that little tension that stays and not sure if i can do anything to improve it. Anyway, need to stretch it and see what happens with the pigment. Check out these details how it looks while it's still on:

detas.jpg

detas4.jpg

I think the yellow ochre pigment is at it's best in powder form - if you mix it with oil it makes a little sad yellow in comparison, though the ochre has it's places

clean.jpg
On a good day i remember to wash my brushes after i finish.

Thanks for reading, i hope you enjoyed.

Sort:  

Pretty paint, I like the mix of colors!

Thank you, it took some work :D

Very artistic ..looks so natural ..indeed..a great painter you are...keep it up.

Congratulations @mikkolyytinen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47