My first Hobo Nickels

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It was little over a week ago when I read @deadspace's post about this curious art form of Hobo Nickels. I thought to myself that I had to give this a try, and coincidently I stumbled into this engraving/modeling set at Lidl earlier this week and really had no option but to buy it. I gave it it's first test drive today:

As skull is quite a popular subject so I thought it would be good for the first try, as this was just for fun. This is about as accurate I can get with my one good eye without some magnification.


The base is a 10 euro cent coin, maybe it's not correct to call it "nickel".


The very first ones were done on 5 cent coins. It was a little surprising that the copper color was only on the surface, but then again not...

Hydra is our art group and our logo is modified from the Finnish herald lion, so this also had to happen.

So yeah, that was quite fun and satisfying. There will be more currency defacing coming sometime in the future, for sure.

Sort:  

Sorry for the late reply but it just dawned on me that last year in my hobo times (that continue for now) I got an engraving kit and I was turning plastic pipes into flutes. I tried my best to learn to play the Bulgarian folk flute, you blow across the end to make a sound and it has very deep, textured breathy low notes. But I tried for almost two months to get the sound to work every time and it eluded me. Sadly the fingering is impossible for my little hands to do low registers but I kept trying to make them... I was even able to play a bit.

Handheld battery powered engravers are cool little tools. I'd love to play with one of the super fast super fancy ones though.

I recall seeing once some coin that was only a thin layer of copper on the outside and then inside it was iron, you could see it because the edges had fully corroded and worn off. I think it was a euro 5 cent or something. If those things were made of the pure metal they would be worth more as scrap.

That's cool to be able to make an instrument, I imagine a battery operated one would come handy a lot of times - maybe for some really sticky graffiti... Yeah, that 5 cent is steel from inside, maybe could try some two color thing. One time I saw a pretty thick metal rod little over 1m that seemed like pure copper in the scrap metal bins next to our studio. Didn't pick it up and next day it was gone lol.

gypsies! yeah, in detroit, the abandoned houses were stripped of pipes and wires... ten years back copper did like 900% in a short time, traced back... the russian copeck is now worth less than the copper in it.

yay fiat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50