asdasdfghgh and the art of naming

in #art8 years ago (edited)


asdasgasg(.png) windows paint 2016

That is the sort of typical name for this kind of work made with paint. They are not necessarily intended for anyone to see, or have too much of thought behind them so i dont usually bother come up with a title. Titling works is something that i had a bit of a stance against as i had the idea that the painting should be enough to tell it's "story" on it's own - even the abstract kind i did, and named few of my traditional pieces in similar fashion also as it would otherwise be just Untitled. I especially hated those something-something in the evening sun for splishy splashy-trickly-bright abstract pieces, sometimes the attempt to elevate the otherwise meaningles work with a fancy name seemed to shine through. But looking it from a different change of perspective may bring something to it and that's where the title can make a difference. I may have gone little soft around the edges and can appreciate that kind of stuff as well, besides im not one to judge on any kind of splashing..


stroke, oil on canvas, ~2013

Titling a painting has two main functions; first is to identify the work for the sake of convention and second is to lead the viewer in to the work. Untitled is an option that i try to use sparingly now. Still i tend to be quite economic with my words in titling as i am in my everyday life; the title is usually one word, like ghost or stroke and it can be a very blunt first impression, but atleast in my head it divides into multiple finer thoughts and feelings with time- i'm imagining something like bloodvessels spreading into smaller ones. I've been trying to start thinking about the title during the process of painting and it essentially becoming part of the work, but it is hard as you don't know exactly what the end result is going to be as you are painting. So I'd guess it is like naming a child, once it is out you give it a name and it becomes something of it's own.

Sort:  

Interesting ideas about titling work, not something I used to really do unless exhibiting and needing to identify work. Now I seem to give them names and genders!

Yea guess there is something when you spend so much time with your own work and become so familiar with it you think it will do. So maybe it comes over time from putting things into wider setting. I have not yet progressed on to genders though :D

Can I use this pic??!! I could use it for another story. BTW I am still writing a piece inspired/using one of your drawing. I will finish the part with your art this week ;) https://steemit.com/writing/@jyezie/the-mark-there-was-this-girl

Sure go ahead, that is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65