Going back to basics with watercolors

in #art5 months ago

My students were getting kind of tired of working on portraits so we returned to something that most of them really love doing because it is easy and cheap for them to do in their own time when they don't have access to the free materials that we keep here at the art center.

While "real" artists might consider this a rather lazy way of doing art, I like to encourage my students to be happy with their results and not get frustrated when we are working on skills. In my own life, I got better at knowing how to do things with latex and even oil paints by practicing with pencil outlines, followed by felt-tip ink outlines, and then finishing the scene off with watercolors. The students all seem to enjoy this process as well and everyone has fun. The fun part of it is the most important part IMO.

We start with a few images of a real world scene on the projector and then we look at them for a while and give it time to "soak in." Then I turn it off and ask them to re-create their own idea about what they just looked at.


image.png

Traditional country scenes have been popular in my class in the past, so we just stick with that. Cityscapes are easier because it mostly involves 90 degree angles, but I find that quaint small villages have much greater opportunity. In the above picture you can see that a student has already completed the pencil and felt-tip pen outline. If you look closely you can see where there were some erasures and that is fine! It is all part of the process.


image.png

Then we move on to some basic coloring and while we do encourage them to try to stay in the lines, this can be complicated with watercolors so if there is a little bit of "leakage" that is fine, it will just be unique to your own style!


image.png

By the time we get to the finished product, lots of little details have been added in that perhaps the artist didn't even imagine at the start. Everyone has their own unique way of drawing nature and I enjoy how each student has a different way of coloring trees or deciding where they are going to add windows and what not.


image.png

By the time it is all done I can see that most of the students are hesitant to declare the work "complete." They always seem as though they want to add a bit more but since our classes are only 90 minutes long in total, there is at least some limit on when it needs to be complete. I thought this student did a very good job and I was impressed with the work. The student was as well and that is really what this is all about.

In particular I was impressed that without prompting from me, the student added shading from the sun and where the shadows would be. This is something we worked on earlier in the year and I intentionally didn't remind them to see if they would remember. I like it when my students are able to do things without having their hands held through the entire process.

While my methods are not necessarily the "best" way of doing things, I want the students to understand that basics and that is what I give them. I am quite certain that some of these students will eventually surpass my abilities because if I was one of the best, I would be a rich artist. It is not my goal to make money from these classes but instead to inspire young minds to be creative and to pursue art in the traditional sense. While some of the parents use these classes as free babysitting, most of the kids actually want to be there and this makes me happy.

If you are not an artist but would like to try your hand at it, I encourage you to begin with watercolors. You only need them, a pen, a pencil and an eraser and off you go!


unnamed (1).jpg
unless otherwise indicated all images are my own

Sort:  

I can appreciate and have total respect for your method and approach in stages like that - and my late mom used to do something quite similar with her students. You are quite right - you are encouraging confidence and confidence in learners is what makes better learners... in any subject really.

Art, as a form of expression - should never make a person feel like they "failed". To my mind, that literally goes against the entire purpose and benefit of art itself.

In particular I was impressed that without prompting from me, the student added shading from the sun and where the shadows would be. This is something we worked on earlier in the year and I intentionally didn't remind them to see if they would remember.

Those are the kinds of moments which a nurturing environment will produce!

It is not my goal to make money from these classes but instead to inspire young minds to be creative and to pursue art in the traditional sense. While some of the parents use these classes as free babysitting, most of the kids actually want to be there and this makes me happy.

I don't think you should change anything about the way you are doing what you are doing! Whether the parents see it as baby sitting or not - you are giving your students something invaluable!

it's always nice to get a response from you. I really enjoy doing these classes and most of the kids do as well, even the ones whose parents don't take much interest in what they are doing - these are the ones I classify as using the "free babysitting."

I have found out that most schools have had much of their art funding cut or drastically reduced so for many of the kids this is the only exposure that they get to this sort of thing. It's like society is driving them to all just get stuck into smartphones so it is nice to give them some other outlet.

it's always nice to get a response from you.

Always a pleasure @mikeville :)

I really enjoy doing these classes and most of the kids do as well, even the ones whose parents don't take much interest in what they are doing - these are the ones I classify as using the "free babysitting."

Yeah I would say that has a whole lot more to do with the adults than anything else. Sadly, I think that this is more and more common these days. Parents often don't take much interest in their kids lives at all - some of it being because of financial burden and obligation and the other because they are simply self-involved... sadly.

most schools have had much of their art funding cut or drastically reduced so for many of the kids this is the only exposure that they get to this sort of thing.

This is truly very sad :( Art is such a wonderfully healing practice and we are in a time when the people of the world need it more than ever if you ask me.

It's like society is driving them to all just get stuck into smartphones so it is nice to give them some other outlet.

I am glad you are doing this for them. They do need more of it.

Hope you have had a wonderful start to you week Mike :)

I find it hard to draw without a reference. Either my imagination is weak or I don't know what's the problem.

What's your say on that?

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post

@mikeville

Each one of the five content creators featured in the LuvBug Blog Curation Posts will receive 10% of the total rewards accumulated, as well as a 100% upvote and resteem from this account. Let's help one another to grow and connect with awesome bloggers and content creators in this space!

HAVE A LOVE-FILLED DAY!!

With hugs from...

image.png

well this is great! I appreciate it!

You are so very welcome @mikeville :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68