Mikes Art Rundown #1

in #art6 years ago

So today im going to be talking about this drawing I did a while back.

m_mahoney_1-5220-2.jpg

When I was starting realism, I asked myself where I was going to start when It came to subject matter. Eventually I decided to do portraits. My first couple of portraits sucked. They were bad, but I knew I was getting somewhere. I finally nailed a good piece around the fourth try. After that I was doing objects, anatomy, and landscapes. This is my most recent piece and the drawing is of Robert De Niro. I drew him because he’s one of my favorite actors and I love his movies. I tend to put a lot of detail in my drawings as you can see. I’m obsessed with detail and I become a perfectionist when it comes to drawing. Some people have asked if people ever get mad at me because I put a lot of detail into their portraits. No people don’t get mad and the reason I put so much detail into my portraits is because today everyone is scared of what other people think. Many people are scared to get old and have imperfections later in life. The way I see it is that imperfections give character. Every wrinkle you have, every little thing people usually see as flaw in their looks, I see it as character. That’s why I don’t try and hide anything. I probably spent a total of 10 hours on this drawing, usually my drawings take me around 8-12 hours total to finish. I don’t try and crank it out in one day, instead I just work on it for an hour or two every day. Usually you don’t want to try and work on an art piece for a long period of time, I say this because the less you look at your work the more you can judge it. Try it sometime, you’ll be surprised if you haven’t.

So that’s all for now, I hope you enjoy my work. I’ll be posting more soon and if you guys have any questions or need advice leave them in the comments below.

Sort:  

Wow, You're really good! Which is why I've decided to put you in my fanbase.. enjoy ;-)

Thanks!

Congratulations @mikemahoney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for your support!

Great work! I really like the expressions face! Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05