I promised I'll draw NED... Here It IS!

in #art8 years ago (edited)

First, I drew DAN.

It was only a matter of time until I get to NED and finally, I did.

Enjoy!




NED. NED STARK.

Wait, what?! What did you expect? :))

This one was fun to make not only because I'm a HUGE Game of Thrones fan. I don't know if it's noticeable but it was a bigger portrait than I normally do: it was done on an A3 page (11.7 by 16.4 inches).
It took me about 5 hours to finish. That's because I got lucky and got in the flow fast. Sometimes, it can take days to get right, but my win is steemit's win also!

I tried a different technique that I fell in love with: the Reilly method witch is more pictural than traditional graphite work, it’s more than the finished product, it’s about how you perceive the form, how you map the shadows, how to hold the pencil and how to sharpen it. Also very important is the calligraphy of the line work because every line is important and has it’s purpose. A very good artist that paints in this style is Jeff Watts. ( Seriously, this guy is a damn genius!)

Although this drawing is not 100% Reilly method, I think that I took the best of it and tried to add a specific Mihai-flair.
I'm pretty proud of it and I hope you like.

What's next? You tell me in the comments!
acting on the suggestions from the comment, @ned, i tag thy! :D

Sort:  

Nice! I thought it would be @ned, but Ned Stark is ok too! =)

that's the point :))

Brace yourselves, the upvotes are coming.

Well done.

Frank Reilly was a great teacher who gave his students very practical information about the craft of making art. I didn't study with him personally, but some of my very successful artist-friends did, and I've been aware of Reilly for many years.

About 17 years ago, I moved to Los Angeles to draw and paint the figure at Associates in Art (now defunct) in Sherman Oaks, where they had some great models to work from. (I eventually taught figure drawing and portrait painting there.) Associates was steeped in the Reilly tradition which I understand was imported to Los Angeles from New York by Fred Fixler, and carried on by Mark Westermoe who ran Associates. There are many artists who have been positively influenced by Reilly, and his teaching method is truly worth exploring.

thank’s I’ve just recently found out about Frank Reilly, he was a genius! I hope that in the future we will see more artists embracing this style.
like your watercolors btw :)

Thank you. The Los Angeles Academy of Figurative Art carries on this tradition somewhat. (I taught portrait painting there, too, BTW.) There are many talented artists in LA who have been influenced by Reilly indirectly. The big thing at Associates was to work with Ritmo charcoal pencils on smooth newsprint. If you do some searching online, I'm sure you'll find many examples.

Up! This is excellent

be sure to tag him so that he sees his portrait :)

This is another great portrait Mihai!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88