3d rendered badass barbarian

in #art8 years ago

Hello again!
Tonight I want to share a character I have designed for a game. One of my dreams is to work on RPGs and draw the monsters, the heroes and everything in between as an concept artist. To build my portfolio and learn the ropes of Max, I practice.
Here's the barbarian!



He is a tough guy and it took me a looong time to get it right. It's considerably more difficult than just drawing.



I actually had to study all the anatomy and how the muscles, fat and skin work together. One of my inspiration for this guy was actually Arnold (the old Arnold :)).



It's very hard to get everything right and make it alive. As this one was one of my first, it wasn't quite perfect but I still like it a lot.
It's usually recommend to try to equip the character too so here's a possible option.

Here you can see a gif of the guy...I feel like he needs a good name by now :D

And the textures for everything. 3D textures are images that are made to replicate real world textures, it's like a flat view of the 3 object in a way. It's difficult to explain but maybe this photo helps.

What did you think? Leave a comment!

Sort:  

Great job using 3ds max. Usually I see people using maya and other software to make characters. The textures look great.

thank you,when i got started i asked a few friends and they all use max so i didn't think about it :)

The traps though... This guy supposedly must be carrying a couple tons on the regular.

Hey this seems pretty cool! Congratulations!! An industry of art brother salutes you o/

thanks :) like your work!

Wow thats cool! Has that been made using 3dMax?

thanks :) yes, it's Max

I think it's great! good job! i'm looking forward to see the hero! :)

Have you tried applying more than just a diffuse map to your model?

i played a bit with zbrush and normal map but got bored fast :)

Nice barbarian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66392.28
ETH 3318.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69