The Hearder - Digital Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

AfricanGuy.jpg

I mentioned before that I'm an art instructor, and one of the classes I teach revolves around digital painting. This painting started out as a class demonstration and I continued to work on it afterward.

detail_02.jpg

I was originally attracted to the reference because the subject had very interesting skin tones that I didn't have a lot of experience painting. I've painted a lot of people of color, but this mans skin contained a lot of violet and purple hues which I found very interesting.
Also like a lot of my other work I wanted to keep a lot of texture in the painting. I really like using that as a tool to balance the visual weight in the painting.

detail_01.jpg

Thanks so much everyone for all the love and support so far. Steemit has a really awesome community and I appreciate all the kind words!

Sort:  

Wowzas. This is freaking awesome!! Do you use photoshop?

Thanks @joxus! Yes, all my paintings are done in Photoshop :)

Dear Artist @midlet ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Thanks @fineartnow! I'll be following you for sure!

This is very loooooooooooovely. Great strokes, very expressive and full with texture <3 And the details are also nicely done :D Gorgeous, gorgeous post <3

upvotes and resteems

Thank you again @veryspider! I really appreciate all the love you're throwing my way. Glad you like it :)

Love how you treated the skin! <3

It's amazing what can be done nowadays with digital painting, lovely, thank you for posting.

That's a great piece.

Nice. Following you and waiting for more. :)

Awesome! Thanks, I really appreciate it @barcisz!

Your art is nice, im an art exhibitor, kindly follow back for support

Thanks @mistakili! Will do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74