Portrait of my wife <3

in #art6 years ago

TiffF.jpg

Painted this a while back because I hadn't done a painting of her yet. There's a lot more pressure when you're painting someone you know vs some random person from the internet. I don't particularly care that much about the likeness when I'm doing portraits because I'm not going to be doing any side by side comparisons or anything.

TiffFdetail.jpg

But when it's someone you know, or someone the people you know know, they'll be able to tell instantly if any little thing is off, so yea, I payed a lot of attention to that and got more into some smaller details than I normally do. I remember this was also challenging because she was smiling and it's hard to paint people that are smiling, especially a young woman.The more contrast and form on her face it will start to age them and has to be handled pretty delicately.

Other than that, I used mostly chalk brushes in Photoshop, because I wanted it to have a look like a drawing vs a painting.

Haven't posted any 2D art in a while, oh well there was that trial by comics entry, but yea besides that, so I thought it was about time. Hope you guys like! Let me know in the comments! Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

That’s her beautiful smile! You told me not to smile for my portrait and I remember being asked why I was NOT smiling in the painting. That’s funny. Great job.

That's because I painted this from a photo, I painted you from life. Try holding a smile for an hour, haha, you'd have been moving all over the place :p

Oh! Now I remember. 😊

Wow, she's so beautiful! What a charming smile she has. ^.^ Great work, @midlet!
I totally understand you, I had to paint some of my relatives (some are still waiting for their portraits XD), but I just can't get into the mood. It's really different when you have to paint someone close to you even from a photo. Especially when they're smiling.
I found that using colors when painting smiling people can help escaping that possibility of aging them. What makes your artwork even more amazing - you made her gorgeous even with black and white. ;)

Thanks @katalinaooma! Yea when you're painting someone non specific, you just have to make the painting/drawing look good. When it's someone close to you, you have to go the extra mile or after hours of work all they'll say is "That doesn't look like me :/" Haha

Wow, I thought that only happened to me, haha. XD
There were times when I had to take a break from drawing. I was feeling depressed that the painting wasn't good enough and my relatives weren't happy with the results. XD

How beautiful! She’s a keeper. I am just so amazed at how talented and skilled you are. You should have your own art school @midlet to teach others.

Thanks @pyemoney, yea I think I'll keep her :p Maybe one day :)

she's beautiful, @midlet * ___ * and you seem to have captured her warm spirit and personality <3 beautiful portrait !

Thought it was a photo with filters applied x_x amazing drawing! Did she look like that when she got the portrait?

Posted using Partiko Android

I also find it hard to draw people smiling and still pretty, maybe because teeth are difficult to draw? But you managed very nicely, midlet. I think you captured her beauty and preserved it to immortality with your art.

I can imagine 10 or 20 years from now or even longer, maybe your children will find this art and see their beautiful mother :).

-upvoted-

Wooow this looks so amazing! Her smile is so beautiful XD very nice chalk brush on psd, i thought it's drawn with charcoal at first :D

You’re full of awesome work, dude! Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72