Motion Comic ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Years ago I did a kickstarter for a project I wanted to create called "Past Away". It was a choose your own adventure motion comic. The project was successfully funded but still never came to fruition because of a series of unfortunate events I won't get into on here. In the end I was left with a lot of artwork.

sc_03_63_actual.jpg

sc_03_30.jpg

ThroughGlassFinal.jpg

JasonAtConsole.jpg

The story takes place in the near future. The main character Jason is a pizza delivery drone operator that ends up having to deliver a pizza the old fashioned way because of a mishap with one of the drones. While he's out he unsuspectingly meets someone from his past. He also witnesses the beginning of an outbreak of zombies.

JasonLookAtPic.jpg

f_13_2.jpg

Jason_Bokeh.jpg

EttienneSwerve.jpg

EtienneHolyCrap.jpg

WTHJustHappened.jpg

The format was widescreen for the entire story. So one of the ways I was able to introduce movement was through background pans. The following look like weird compositions when you see the entire painting at once, but they were meant to only be seen sections at a time.

FirstShotLongPan2_scaled.jpg

BigCityPanLookUp2.jpg

OOG_ForPosting.jpg

PartyHousePan_64.jpg

tumblr_mxlg7m40Wc1sb032no1_1280.jpg

There's also a ton of development work and concept art but I'll save that for another post. You can see what a lot of this looked like in motion in the trailer here

Let me know in the comments what you think! Upvote, resteem, follow, hug, fistbump, etc. If you dare >:D

As always thanks for looking!

Sort:  

I don't normally leave just a simple generic comment. What more can I say though? That's some really good work I'm seeing there.

I'm sure there will be a comics community here, eventually. Hopefully you haven't given up on the project. It could always be revived here once we have the proper avenues and more people to see.

Thanks @nonameslefttouse. As I mentioned when we were chatting before, my ultimate dream here would be to be able to work on stuff like this AND eat and pay rent. I'll do my best to grow the community to make that a reality. Hopefully more peeps will follow your example being good curators. Thanks again for all the love :)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Hello midlet! Thanks for sharing. Keep writing good quality content and let's grow the community together.

Great stills! Did you do the storyboarding and the illustrations? Really nice compositions, angles, and color schemes!

Yup, was a one man band on this project. Glad you like it :)

Awesome work. Looking forwaed to following more of your work.🖖🏼👏

Thanks @mistajlife, for sure there's more to come! :)

a great post. I really like always the spirit

Wow ! I love these, @midlet !!! The narratives and characters are coming through so vividly! They seem to be very interesting and like... the shown panels make me want to find out what kind of events and stories are going down :D :D :D

Love the colours and the background works, as well * ___ * That city shot from the above is so cool * ___ * Gorgeous project <3 Thank you for sharing <3 <3 <3

upvotes and resteems

Thanks so much @veryspider! :) Glad you like it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by midlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Fistbumped you for this!
I love it and I can tell you now, that my other half would read this if it were a comic, he loves his comic and this sort of thing!

The choice of colours is what jumps out to me! Great mix.

Thanks for sharing this!

excellent artwork man! have you free tutorials on the internet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94