Copyright Stuff you should know

in #art6 years ago

cr.png

This isn't an art post. I did make this thing though because a @midlet post with NO ART...just ain't right. Anyway this is a topic I always think about writing about, but have never taken the time because I always think about all the words and get turned off, but the time has come.

I've had people ask me if I was afraid people would steal my work when posting it online, and the answer is a resounding NO! One of the marvels of Steem to me is the fact that I can make money posting sketches and doodles. Typically this is not something you can monetize. Of course if someone pays me to draw or create something specifically for them, that's one thing and of course that's valuable, but just random paintings, or 3D sketches...not so much, other than for self promotion.

I also sometimes see artists put copyright symbols on their work or under their work etc. So I just want to share with all my fellow internet people how (U.S.) copyright law works in plain english. I'm not going to just quote stuff from the websites that list the laws, more of a chat about it.

1. Putting a copyright symbol on or around your work doesn't do anything or offer you any extra protection.

When you make something, it's copyrighted. You don't have to do any other steps. You own your work as soon as you make it. The issue is what if someone steals your work? Then what? Do you sue them? Well if you want to sue someone then...

2. In order to seek legal damages for copyright infringement you have to register your copyright.

Basically you have to fill out some forms, pay some money, and send a copy of your thing to the copyright office. If someone steals your work and you DON'T have a registered copyright, all you can do is ask them not to use it. Of course you can register your copyright after the fact, but it would look better in court if you'd registered it beforehand.

So those things being said, if someone used my artwork to make a blog post,

  • who cares

If someone posted my artwork without my permission, to talk about me

  • who cares

If someone posted my artwork without my permission in any way that is not benefiting them financially

  • who cares

...BUT!

If someone uses your artwork and is making significant financial income from it...REJOICE! YOU'RE ABOUT TO GET PAID!!!

The way that someone can steal your art that is actually damaging almost NEVER HAPPENS. It happens from time to time, but it's very rare. Just think about it. If you're an entrepreneur and you've put your blood sweat and tears into building some business, are you going to risk it all over a piece of artwork that you could probably just pay some poor artist peanuts to create anyway?

Surprisingly the answer is sometimes yes, but very rarely. So fear not, and spread the art! If someone steals it, shake it off. They more than likely aren't going to be able to do anything with it except further dig themselves into a life of soul crushing delusion and deception. No need for you to get super worked up. If you see it, by all means, say "HEY! You stop that!" But don't sweat it too much, and definitely don't let that be the reason that you don't post work online.

This has been a public service message, and by the way, I left out the details in this copyright stuff, if you want to know more, GTS! :)

Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57