Reading Between the Lines

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Last summer I've visited a nice piece of art located in the hills of northeast Belgium. The piece is called Reading between the lines and is created by Gijs Van Vaerenbergh. Even though it sounds like a single person Gijs Van Vaerenbergh is an architect/artist duo from Belgium. The images below I took last summer and give a good impression of the art installation.

Look how it blends with the scenery behind it:
Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.55.07.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.53.53.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.54.02.png

Note the people walking inside, it almost looks photoshopped:

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.55.56.png

A shot from inside looking up the steeple:
Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.54.27.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 18.54.48.png

I really liked visiting this place. And actually, I wasn't alone. When arriving, there were to my surprise dozens of visitors! Reading between the lines is located here.

Thanks for reading my stuff!

Sort:  

This is a very cool building! Looking at these images it seems that you've got what it takes to join in on the Seven Day Black and White Challenge, therefore I have nominated you... You can see my nomination here: https://steemit.com/photography/@helenmunch/the-seven-day-black-and-white-challenge-day-5 Hope you're up for the task! :) Helen

Thanks @helenmunch! I'm honored! Now lets see what I will post :) One comment regarding your post. The links to my blog arent working. Even though my name on my blog is MichelMk my account is using @michelmake. Perhaps you can fix it in your post. I know it is confusing, sorry :)

Fixed it! I’m sorry I put the wrong link. I had the name michelmake in my head but still linked MichelMk🙃. Now I know! Look forward to see your posts!

This is insanely beautiful! I want to visit it.

Yeah its cool huh! I must give credits to my friend who is good at fotography and took the pictures too :)

That is super trippy, and also very cool. Would be fun to see it someday. I thought at first that the images were Photoshopped until I started reading the article and you explained. I wonder how long it took the artist to come up with the idea and get it made?

Yeah its pretty trippy indeed also walking around it! I guess they had it made by some skilled people, the geometry is really exact as you can see from some of the pictures.

Is that corten steel? Those people walking inside... wow.

I didn't know what corten steel was. I looked it up and I think it was indeed corten steel. Yeah, it looks so surreal with those people inside! Thanks for reading my stuff!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58