A family portrait - Day 10

in #art8 years ago

A family in repose

I am currently working on a new piece on this series of family portraits. This is my boyfriend's paternal grandfather, Frank. Here's the original post from day one

Day 10 (sorry skipped a few days)

'Frank in repose'

Frank in repose

The idea of posting daily I think was a bit tedious so I opted to skip a few days. It seems that none of these posts are going to engage in conversation but I'm here if anyone would care to comment. I welcome your thoughts!

One thing I was discussing with a fellow artist yesterday was the notion of working from photos. Is that art?

In my opinion I think that whatever inspires you should have no bearing on whatever you're creating is art or not. Artists work from photos all the time. They work from life, their imagination, and get inspiration from other artists work as well. Norman Rockwell, although primarily an illustrator, worked from photos. Granted they were photos of his own creation and composition. As one could imagine holding up a Thanksgiving turkey (from the painting 'Freedom from Want') for more than 30 seconds would be more than challenging. Thus a photo was a more reliable source of material.

Anyway, I'm still in progress but starting to refine the shadows and color. I have yet to lay in the pattern on the sofa and wallpaper. But it will come together in a couple more weeks I suspect. I had to take liberty with color choice as the photo is a black and white. But I do have one color photo from the same house indicating a blue wallpaper. Here it is in all it's glory.

Frank in repose

(to be continued)

Bobby
RIP Bobby - The boy with the camera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69