Artist statement

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hey y' all ,
theres a lot more to come as far as new paintings, but I will also be sharing studio shots and images from some of the cool things I get to see and do . Be well and i hope you enjoy my statement.

I paint from distant memories of growing up on a farm in Michigan and the proximity those have to the urban life I live. The rural landscape provides a fertile language that connects and details aspects of land and humanity. My paintings employ hand-hewn wood beams, the gold of a wheat field and other textures to set up a framework used to sift through these ideas. This framework acts as a scale weighing out ideas from my agrarian upbringing and the global world I inhabit today. I celebrate and revel in the wreckage from the collision of new technology and cultures, and the begrudging coexistence with consumerism. Through abstraction I aim to bring the viewer closer to a constant tug of war between the primal versus the avant-garde.
Born in the eighties and raised on a farm, I hold a critical lens to the impact of the internet, a global world view and the advancement of technology. Im excited to tear down traditional ideologies and watch the impact it brings, while notating some skills and ways of life to preserve. Im aware of where I came from, and sometimes I love to forget as I become a new American. I contemplate the complex strengths and shortcomings of myself and others on the threshold between the rural and urban.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mfkon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44