Step by step sketching of Legolas

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi great steemians,
Happy new week to everyone here steeming to add value to this great community.
Remembered the famous Legolas of the Lord of the Rings? I guess you do remember him. I actually love everything about him and today I have decided to have a little sketch of him as I looked from a reference picture and also from my own imagination of his appearance.
Salvador Dali once said that
" drawing is the honesty of the art.
There is no possibility of cheating.
It is either good or bad".
This is actually what I believed on. It's often challenging trying much to be a good artist for all beginners but the time spent worth the gain.
This is the case of me trying much to keep learning and being quite the best I can.
Let's have a little guide on how to draw the famous Legolas of the Lord of the Rings.
Here I used HB pencil, 4B, a charcoal and a cotton wool to dress up the charcoal I use during the drawing to suit my preference. This is how the drawing looks after all the steps.
IMG_20180115_133018.jpg
IMG_20180115_130912.jpg
Below are the respective steps
STEP 1
First step is to draw a circle in an oval shape to represent the face
IMG_20180115_125844.jpg
STEP 2
Here, draw a straight line across the circle to make his face features appear better
IMG_20180115_130132.jpg
STEP 3
Draw the crescent lines to represent the hairline and mass. And also for his wrist and hand, draw a circle and line to represent it.
IMG_20180115_130310.jpg
STEP 4
Here, lines a, b, c, d, e and f represent the eyebrows, eyes, nose, mouth, shoulders and bow respectively
IMG_20180115_130530.jpg
STEP 5
Step 5 is to draw the eyebrows, the bridge of his nose and eye
Here its important to erase a little of your guidelines and then use 4B pencil or a more darker pencil to draw the rest of it Starting from the eyes so that it can be much visible to the eyes.
IMG_20180115_130714.jpg
STEP 6
Also draw now the nose, smile line and mouth too
IMG_20180115_130733.jpg
STEP 7
Draw or add his hairline with strokes so that it appears like a wig.
IMG_20180115_130751.jpg
STEP 8
Draw his hand, braid and collar too
IMG_20180115_130810.jpg
STEP 9
Sketch the collar hair, hoodie portion and erase the guidelines
IMG_20180115_130833.jpg
STEP 10
In the step, I have to use charcoal to color it gradually and with the help of cotton wool, make it more neat to appear much real.
IMG_20180115_130857.jpg
STEP 11
This is the final step and the outcome of it. Due not much perfect but it quite look like the Legolas i do admire alot..... Smiles.
With the help of the charcoal and cotton wool... Everything is much clean and real.
IMG_20180115_130912.jpg
This is just a little of my steps to drawing the famous Legolas of the Lord of the Rings.
I much hope it's nice to worth your upvote.
More coming from me.

Sort:  

A really nice article made a good choice my dear friend

Thanks much friend

wow..great artwork. really stunning art. Keep sharing. @messinaldo

Thanks much my cool friend

This is beautiful! You don't know how obsessed I was with the Thranduilian prince to the point where I started learning Elvish. Keep up the great work, mellon nin! (My Friend in Elvish) xx

Smiles.. Thanks much. I appreciate you alot. Just followed you

Thank you for the follow back! Looking forward to your future posts! :D

Smiles.. You much welcome. Me too

Super keren karyamu brader @messinaldo..

Oh wow! I love drawing. I'll definitely have to try this way of drawing human (or elf ;) ) faces :)

Thanks!

Smiles.. The feeling is quite great. Try it out. Thanks much

Wow this is really awesome artwork buddy.,

Smiles thanks man.. Just followed you

Super cool man! Picked a great character too

Yes, you right. Thanks much. Will have to sketch many of the Lord of the Rings characters soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50