The African Violet I Painted For Mother´s Day

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4634 A.JPG

Happy weekend dear Steemians,

Today, I´m sharing a painting I once did for my Mom in-law, a gift for Mother´s Day. At that time, I really didn´t know what to give her and since I had a painting work in progress, I decided to finish it on time so I could give it to her on the occasion. It was one of the few paintings I did in oil which I considered a naive painting. I wanted to learn how to do an art work using the medium in oil. So without formal classes, I just researched on how to process it and painted this one.

IMG_4654A.JPG
The African Violets /Veilchen...Oil on canvas, 30cm x40cm

The painting was based on the african violets I once had which almost died off when we came home from a long trip in Spain. The plant literally was drying because the watering system failed in the last weeks...I pampered the potted plant and nourished it with feed and lots of care... and then it was blooming again... Out of joy, I opted to make it as the model for this painting.

20180916_132559.jpg

When I gave it to mom in-law, she hung it on her living room wall and I was of course very proud that she did for I felt honored by the gesture. Later on, this painting came back to me ..sort of a homecoming because Mom in-law passed away from her illness. So now it´s been up there on the wall of our guest bedroom (see pic above).

IMG_4653A.JPG

For me, this painting is a remembrance of a beloved person who had been a very good friend and had been part of my journey.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for the GIF

Content and Images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Sort:  

Nice one! You are really talented.

Thank you sis Fhe... trying hard yan... lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much Fatima for visiting and for the nice comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great art. Beautiful creativity. Really awesome.

Thanks Martin for your comment abd for coming..

Posted using Partiko Android

Ang GANDA! @mers liwat si Tim nimo...ka nice gyud sa imong talent oy, multi talent!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha..mahilig din ako sa painting at drawing..si tim mahikig yan talaga kahit bata pa..pero sya may formal training kasi graduatevyan ng arts, student pa lang yan kinuha na sya ng studio.. meron syang ginawang murals naka display sa Hall ng Adamson University..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.891 which ranks you at #11138 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 11131).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #470.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ich bin ein Fan der Malerei, jedes Mal, wenn ich Rahmen in Farbe sehe, suche ich immer nach dem, der es schafft, weil ich das Meisterwerk mit seinem Schöpfer assoziieren kann. Ich kann sagen, dass der Kontrast deines Kunstwerks einen starken männlichen Einfluss in deinem Leben hat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha.. das ist richtig..ich war umgeben von 6 Maenner in meine Familie.. 5 Brueder und mein Papa.. Danke schoen fuer deine nette Kommentare und fuers kommen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha.. das ist richtig..ich war umgeben von 6 Maenner in meine Familie.. 5 Brueder und mein Papa.. Danke schoen fuer deine nette Kommentare und fuers kommen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79