Taking the next step for the love of artsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Inspired by Lee Gordon Seebach's post "Jumpin' Jack Dry Wash"

Beyond his craftsmanship and dedication, Lee (aka @chessmonster) consistently takes us a step further by sharing his knowledge - his process. His video shares the painstaking exercise which he follows to create a fine piece - from a photograph he took after a walk in nature to find his subject, to a value study in black and white, to studies in color - all before he begins painting his final piece in watercolor!

I'll take all the knowledge bombs I can get

I don't have the knowledge or years of experience that many resident Steemit artists have but I have a thirst for knowledge and sincerely want to be a better artist.

Patience & Practice

Drawing and painting is a creative outlet for me that I never knew existed before I joined Steemit. So many fine artists and illustrators openly share what materials they use, give tutorials and little knowledge bombs and I am thankful for all of it.

Which leads me to my current art project.


The Lotus Flower and The Sun

The Lotus Flower and The Sun rough draft by Meredith Loughran

The idea of this piece came to me when I found out my husband's cousin recently got married. I am so happy that she is finally in a good place with a good guy that I wanted to gift them with a painting symbolizing an embrace of sorts - and nurturing.

And then I watched Lee's video

My initial thought was: This has special meaning. I want to take my time with this piece and do it right .
It took two days to go from initial idea to sketch to tracing in marker. In @chessmonster's video, he creates a value study in black and white.

As I looked at my drawing I tried to imagine it's background, the different shades and how to create the details in paint.

I realized my sketch is not the final piece but my value study in black and white.

So here I am thinking about the next step.
Will I have the patience to practice this piece in watercolor and acrylic -- and possibly multimedia?
Which will have the closest result to the image forming in my imagination?
Will it be good enough to gift?

And then I saw this quote, which may seem off topic but it's not, I promise you:


"Science is not about control.
It is about cultivating a perpetual condition of wonder
in the face of something that forever grows one step richer
and subtler than our latest theory about it.
It is about reverence, not mastery."

- Richard Powers


Cultivating a perpetual condition of wonder...grow one step richer.
It's about reverence not mastery!

HUZZAH!

I know in my heart I will never consider myself a master of anything but I will always have wonder and take steps to make my life richer. There is a humbleness to that and most definitely reverence for life... and art.


Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

100% Steem Power by Meredith Loughran Steemit verified merej99, Meredith Loughran

Follow me on Twitter
Join my curation trail on Streemian

Sort:  

Amazing work and it's so nice of Lee to share his creative process!

Its lovely and very thoughtful, your husbands cousin and new partner will love this. I know I would :)

Excellent post dear friend @ merej99 the work is excellent, very beautiful congratulations

good... flowers under the sun....^^

Thanks @merej99 ! This means a lot to me. ☺️

Beautiful draw, congrats!
You wrote "Patience & Practice" and yes, I can say you that patience and practice are the best "friends" to paint. I'm improving my patience day by day painting and sketching, it's an hard work, but we can do it! :P ^_^

Thanks for the great post. That is a beautiful piece of art work you are creating. I love line drawings. Hope you can put the whole thing out on here, once done, before you give it to them. They will love it, I'm sure.

And I can relate, master of none, interested in it all. Art is such a building process. The ideas seem to grow, rather than shrink, over time, which is great. Thanks for sharing.

a reverence for life leads us to pay attention to the wonder of creation and eventually leads us to create our own works of art, as you have, mere...lovely :)

I'm a people watcher and I can tell, you have a gentle soul. I like your art

Very nice ! 5hanks for shareing ! I have put off my angel wings initiative since the price of steem dropped so much , and so have my post earnings ! I also didnt gain the followers i was hopeing for , i only tried it for a week , but at a futur date when i reintrduce it again i will try it out for at least a month ! Maybe if the price of steem goes up it will work out better , ive just had a couple of bad weeks all around since being laid off and just needed something to cheer me up ! Best of luck to you ! Steem on !👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42