You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dare call yourself an artist, what exaclty is that anyway ?

in #art8 years ago

I do not consider myself to be an artist or an author. There is something about those labels that I acknowledge but rarely tack to myself. I draw. I write. I am a content creator and I do that because it brings me joy. I share it because I can. It's up to the visitor to interpret what they will from it. Hopefully my creations have touched them enough to bring forth ANY kind of emotion. As for singing - I do not believe it is the singer or the song. Again, it's the emotional connection. A song is but notes on a sheet of paper. The performer can sing said notes. The difference between a good singer and a great singer is the ability to interpret those notes in a way which gives it life and makes us connect to it.

Sort:  

Yes exactly , partly the reason why I wrote this was to suggest that the idea of what an artist is today is changing and what you wrote here kind of convinces me of this. Thus if the artist is to survive then they will have to adapt but then again artists are usually good at adapting. I really like the term "content creator" and also "emotional connection", put those together with idea of "sharing" and I thing we are getting closer to description of what an artist is today. Cheers for the input. Excellent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50