ICK Totem - original art by @merej99 - Day 4 of the Drawing ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

ICK Totem

Paying homage to what my friend Gracie calls the ICK of SICK. Day 2 of not feeling very well... but feeling better than yesterday!

ICK Totem by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing

I was curious about the intricacies of an actual totem...

How each level seems to contribute to the next somehow.
My plan is to further explore this type of art.
And being that this is my first time making such an attempt, I can definitely admit

there's lots of room for improvement!

ICK Totem by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing

I think I will definitely explore this further when I don't give myself this self-imposed challenge to draw something every day. While I'm tempted to apologize for the "junk" I may be putting out, there is something that @opheliafu said, which has stuck with me.

(paraphrasing)
I never throw anything out and no work is ever complete.

This gives me hope that I can redeem myself with some of these pieces; perhaps repurposing them, or taking a break from them and revisiting with fresh eyes in December.

Speaking of eyes...

Mine aren't so swollen today as I pose with the final piece.

ICK Totem by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing


This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

merej99-signature
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

beautiful congratulations my friend @ merej99

Thank you @jlufer - you are always so kind :)

This is great! I have to continue to draw to get better myself.

Draw it. Share it! Don't keep it yourself. LOL
We're all at different levels and create in unique styles so you may as well jump in the deep end and swim with the rest of us. :D

I like the little fella on top who looks like he's about to be eaten!

LOL
I thought about adding more to him but then I was like "naw, it's enough"
I think my favorite part is the skull with the scary pointy teeth

Yes, no artwork is ever complete: just stop in a good place, mostly when you don't know what else to do. Put it away if you're stuck, and pull it out in a week or two. Seeing it with a fresh eye it's often obvious what needs to be done, plus it's better than you thought. Works for me!

There are only a few pieces that I've done that grow on me the more I look at them. Those are getting framed. But the rest are definitely works in progress, I think.

Looks very native....hope that's a politically correct word...I always get those distinctions incorrect. Depends what country one is from. But your work as usual is always good to see.

I think the term "politically correct" is an oxymoron. LOL
That being said, I never get it right either. People can be overly sensitive. I am not one of those people. :)
It's nearly 7 am and my mind is racing with what Day 5 will bring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66