Geisha Girl - original art

in #art8 years ago

Geisha Girl

Geisha Girl by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing
I hope you enjoy this piece.

My inspiration

Hmm. I have no idea where the inspiration for this piece came from. I was sitting at my computer last night and had the urge to draw....something. In a quest to challenge myself, i scrolled through many photographs and pictures, taking notes along the way of style and form that I wanted to try.


Geisha Girl by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing
I began with a pencil sketch


Let the sketching begin

I cannot tell you how many times I've adjusted her nose and her chin. It's still not quite right, but ultimately I am happy with the final results.

Geisha Girl by Meredith Loughran, art doodling, drawing
As I began to add color


Blending colors is really hard without the proper tools!

I wanted to give her some skin tone instead of being totally white. The only thing I had that would blend was my red and white acrylic marker, so on a separate sheet of paper, I dabbed small pools of them and blended with a Q-tip. It was very red still, so as it dried, I dabbed white directly on her and blended using my finger. I'm a hot mess right now! LOL

Geisha Girl by Meredith Loughran, art, doodling, drawing
And here I am posing with the final piece. Soap & water doesn't get paint off skin, y'all!


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat


Wall of Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepperBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Name in silver by @neoxian8bit avatar by @williambanks

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Sort:  

Thank you @rigaronib. It's one of my favorites. I might have to frame it and put it on the wall :)

You definately should!

I'm liking the oriental vibe to this!

She came out a lot nicer than I anticipated! :)

Thank you @cubbyworks
Dude, why are you still at 25 rep?!?!

lol, idk why, or what that means! I figured it was my activity, which should go up cuz I made my first post. practicing dumb markdown and things i had to learn. haha

Multi-talented lady! Like this new venture of yours...

Holy crap, Angie! GOOD TO SEE YOU HERE!
I am so happy to be drawing again. I haven't done it with any kind of rigor since high school and now I can't seem to stop! :)
Will catch up with you on chat soon. Soooo much to catch up on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36