Free To Be Me - original noir art by @merej99 - Day 2 of the drawing challenge

in #art8 years ago

Free To Be Me

Free To Be Me by Meredith Loughran, noir art, art, sketch, woman

I don't know where she came from,
but I imagine her to be sunbathing on a beach somewhere,
not really giving a damn what people think about her.


This is my Day 2 submission into a 30-day drawing challenge that I've joined with @poeticsnake

I have always been fascinated with noir art. While I don't have the skill to draw in knockout colors (black background using white paint or markers), I can still draw on white paper and paste it onto a black background, which is exactly what I did for Free To Be Me.


Lady In the Red Dress

Lady in the Red Dress by Meredith Loughran, art, noir art, drawing

She was actually my first attempt at noir art and was submitted for the Steemfest art show/catalog -- whatever happened with that?


Anyway... I'm still experimenting with black paper but not ready to release any of those at the moment.

I sketched with pencil
(sorry, forgot to take a photo!)

Traced with marker
and shaded with pencil.
Then I cut around her and glued it to black construction paper,
purposefully placing her on an angle.

What have you challenged yourself with this month?

Free To Be Me by Meredith Loughran, noir art, art, sketch, woman

And here I am posing with her.


  • this is a 50/50 post

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

witchy merej99
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

A 30-Day Drawing Challenge sounds awesome. I hope you do a write-up of what lessons you've learned over the month. Keep up the great work!

@decimus - between this and NaNoWriMo, I'm fairly certain my hair will hurt by the end of the month. I should have gone for the trifecta and done an exercise challenge too. Well, it's never too late to start, right? :D
Thank you for the compliment. I really appreciate it. XOXOX

What a beautiful talen you have. And charming. Keep it up, I will follow you. Your posts will be loved!!

Thank you for your kind words @rissakoirtyohann - you are much appreciated. :)

i would love to be able to draw, i see so may wonderful paintings, drawings on here and just wished I had that talent. My dad can draw and my sister, I missed out on that gene! Yours are really lovely, they look very 1940 style drawings.
Challenge ..hmmmm - master getting the basic yoga positions right - the sun salutation - still keep getting my arms and legs in the wrong positon! - onwards and upwards they say.........

I am so afraid to try yoga. It's been about 30 years since I did any kind of gymnastics and stretching like I see in some of those positions. I'm afraid something would snap, tear or break. LOL As for the drawing... I didn't start again until I joined Steemit. It's kind of fun to see the progression because I don't limit to any one kind of style. Believe it or not, the lips on this piece came by happy accident! You just never know until you try :)

my artistic talent stretches to stick men- maybe I am a secret decendant of Lowry? - born the same area..... I am very good at creating things and always helped my girls in their art homework if they had to make something, infact I usually 'took over' and it became a competition for me to get it on the starboard- sad fact I'm afraid! lost childhood?? - no I'll stick to my yoga challenge and hopefully will not get tied up too much..lol :)

ROFL!
YES! Those star boards made for FIERCE competitions among the parents! I remember those days. Soooo glad my kids are grown now!

Excellent! my friend @ merej99 not cease to amaze me congratulations. creativity and success forever

This is amazing! I just started back up drawing today and I'm glad to see some artwork to inspire me to keep going!

Really GREAT drawing again! I love IT!

she is fabulous, I hope your experiments on black paper go well, you can always try painting in the black spaces with indian ink when working on white paper.

Unique and lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69