Celtic Snake - original art and #nameinlights @poeticsnake

in #art8 years ago

I began thinking about this snake and what it would look like several days before I attempted to sketch it out. And I have to say this is, by far, one of the hardest things I've ever done!

But I think the hard work and studying paid off because...

I LOVE IT!


Celtic Snake. Doodle art by Meredith Loughran


This is dedicated to the lovely #Steemit member @poetrysnake

Bibi has been an inspiration through her art, tutorials, and stories. Her presence on the Steemit platform is consistent and she's so engaged with her followers. BONUS We've got so much in common between writing, art, humor, and a deep, dark side which we try to keep at bay. She's an absolute gem!

So, if you follow me, consider hitting the follow button on her too. She's like my cosmic sister...and I've got a growing number of them! Where have you been all my life? LOL

So jumping on the hashtag wagon, Bibi, this is your #nameinlights and Celtic snake is dedicated to you.
  • #nameinlights was started by @williambanks as a way to promote one's followers and help build their audience in an organic way - through recommendations by the community for the community.

Meredith Loughran doodle art Celtic snake

My graph paper barely survived all of the erasures because I didn't like any of the shapes and designs I'd originally drawn. And then it hit me...

Celtic knots!


It's not like I've drawn Celtic knots before -- EVER

So, I studied them for a day and figured out it's a weaving technique, only on paper.

Meredith Loughran doodle art of a Celtic knot snake


Then I had to decide if I was going to stick with the same type of knot.

Maybe I should take a picture of my arm to verify it's me and my work because I've got pen marks all over myself. Seriously, how the heck does this happen?

Anyway, I spent the entire morning drawing, erasing, and then retracing with pen.

The entire time I was saying "Over. Under. Over. Under...fuck, I messed up. :: erase | erase | erase :: Over. Under. Over..."

Meredith Loughran posing with doodle art Celtic snake

If you like my content, please consider upvoting and visiting my other articles. Your comments are always appreciated.


Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on Steemit

Meredith Loughran blogs at ScribblingBandits.com | Follow her on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Come see what I've been writing! Visit my blog page

Sort:  

I can not express what i feel right now but let me tell you it's amazing. You made a wonderful drawing and wow, again you stole my heart! You are a wonderful strong person and I am so blessed that I have met you and I can't wait to hear your voice one day one at one. I mean I have seen your video's so I know what you sound like! I am so happy that you picked up those pens, not to write this time but to draw. You are good at it! <3

Sounds like a future Steemit meetup is in order! There are a bunch of people I need to give hugs to :)
I'll bring the 'tater salad <3

Very nice art. i followed you! perhaps u like my page and find some graffiti art u like :) <3 kalipo

Hi @kalipo
I'll head over to your blog shortly. But can I just give you a little bit of warning? I've seen you post similarly on several art blogs with a call to visit your site. A lot of us follow each other and can get turned off if we see the same person with the same message. I absolutely support content creators and I don't want to see you lose credibility, okay?

Lol little to late for that. This guy literately did this on around 100 different posts.. Kind of shame because they are really good too.

Oh totally forgot to say good job on the piece and followed :)

Love the snake and I already follow poetic snake so would second your reccomendation that people follow her.
I'll be checking out the nameinlights tag to.

There aren't too many using it right now but I believe it's a good initiative to help our friends :)
I've got a pic in mind to dedicate to you too, lady. I may have to work on it over the weekend.

I have a very long list of posts to write up, so will have time to think. I still have to finish writing my story up. thats taking longer than i thought it would.

I've barely written anything the last few days. I'm obsessed with getting some felt pens and a sketch pad! LOL

@merej99
This is awesome! I'm really glad to be following @poeticsnake now. Thank you for the #nameinlights ! Upvoted!

Thank you @williambanks - I'm really hoping Bibi gets some exposure and I'm looking through my list to see who's next. It's a great idea to widen our community :)

really cool. i like it. i love geometry. not that i can do math, but geometry is beautiful and natural. thanks, and for some of your other posts re how steemit works/is working. i appreciate your work & time.

Talking my language, I have a Celtic Tree of Life tattooed on my back. Love your drawings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71