Bridges of St. Petersburg. Novo-Nikolsky Bridge.

in #art6 years ago

The name of the bridge is taken from the name of the nearby St. Nicholas Cathedral about which I told you here:
https://steemit.com/art/@megamax/walks-around-saint-petersburg-45
The first bridge on this site was built in 1835 - 1837 by the design of the architect Zavadsky and the director of the Clark Ironworks. The bridge was an arched cast-iron one-span on the bases of rubble masonry lined with granite.

12-12-griboedov-novonikol.jpg
image source

October 8, 1837, the bridge collapsed just before the opening of the movement on it. The cause of collapse was the deformation of the coastal foundations due to erosion of the base. A commission was set up to investigate the incident. The authors of the project were arrested and a part of their salary was collected from them. Later they were released. Emperor Nicholas the First ordered to build a new bridge in this place. In 1841 a new steel beam bridge was built. The construction project was again led by Clark.

novo-nikolskiy-m2.jpg
image source

0_67f35_4ea3f079_XL.jpg
image source

24219423.jpg
image source

To monitor the construction of the bridge was entrusted to the architect Karl Ivanovich Rossi.
Due to heavy wear and tear in 1933-1934, the bridge was rebuilt into a single-span arch with a solid reinforced concrete vault. In this form, the Novo-Nikolsky bridge has reached our days.

68049968.jpg
image source
View from the Novo-Nikolsky bridge in the winter.

The total length of the bridge is 30.2 meters, the width of the bridge is 22.2 meters.

Thank you for your attention. I wait for you again on the bridges of St. Petersburg.

Sort:  

Lovely city. I can go there for holidays in year.

Great post! I love places that have many historical aspects. What a Lovely city. I hope I can go there for holidays

Thank you. You want to visit our beautiful St. Petersburg. Welcome.

Beautiful photographs, nice representation accompanied by a good informative text. I wish I had the happiness to go some day (I think it would give me so discomfort much excitement :)). Thank you. regards

Thank you for your praise of my work. I wish you someday come to Petersburg and Russia.

I hope I can, it looks beautiful!

@megamax what a great architecture and this bridge contain history also .a very fine work form the engineer. Look like very strong.

St. Petersburg looks like it's rich in history. I would love to visit from Alaska and walk the streets. Thanks for sharing!

With what pleasure would I have visited Alaska! For a long time I've been dreaming, but I think it's not very feasible ... I hope you'll manage to go to St. Petersburg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60991.51
ETH 3361.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48