DIGITAL PAINTING PROCESS - SABER FROM FATE/STAY NIGHT

in #art6 years ago (edited)

saberrrrr2.png

Untitled-1.jpg

Hello again Humans!

It's MEEK here! What you see above is my fanart of Saber from the famous anime Fate/Stay Night. I'll show you guys my process and some stuff I do when painting digitally. :)

Hope you enjoy!

Untitled-1.jpg

-F I R S T S T E P-

12.png

Let's start! I use Photoshop as my main drawing software and a Wacom Intuos for my drawing tablet. I am only using a MacBook Air for my computer but it still works smoothly (still trying to save for a full PC desktop T.T)

As you can see above, my layers are all messed up! HAHAHA sorry, I am one of those artists haha. Anyways, I always try to find the mood for my painting first - like where's the setting? Lights? Temperature etc. So in this picture, I wanted saber to be in a battlefield kind of place or a desert I think hahaha

I use two colors for the background to represent the desert feels that I wanted - Light Blue for the sky and a soft Yellow color for the sand

Untitled-1.jpg

-S E C O N D S T E P-

13.png

Next! Of course, you need to sketch the pose and everything but Saber's pose here ain't that complicated so I decided to directly paint and just edit it along the way. As you can see above, all the base colors are in place - main color of the hair, face, armor and Saber's inner clothes.

Untitled-1.jpg

-T H I R D S T E P-

14.png

Next step. Nothing fancy, just added some basic head details like the eyes, nose, basic lighting etc. :)

Untitled-1.jpg

F O R T H S T E P

15.png

Then added the details of her armor.

Untitled-1.jpg

-F I F T H S T E P-

16.png

I then decided to flip the canvas - there are no technical reasons but I guess, just personal preferences haha. Also rendered the face a bit more.

Untitled-1.jpg

-S I X T H S T E P-

17.png

A couple of Background details. You must always take note that > backgrounds should never be too detailed as it will block your painting's main topic which is Saber in the one.

Untitled-1.jpg

-S E V E N T H S T E P-

18.png

The whole lighting for the painting - see layer 156 - basically, I just paintbucket the whole layer with black and lower its opacity to make a shadow effect the erase the areas where I want the light to touch the character.

Untitled-1.jpg

-E I G T H S T E P-

saberrrrr2.png

And finally done! For the last step, just added the RGB split effect on the painting to have a moving effect or something. :D

Untitled-1.jpg

It's really fun painting Saber, if you haven't watched Fate/Stay Night I tell you to DO IT NOW! Hahaha

Hope you Humans enjoyed or learned something from this blog. If you have questions or something, don't hesitate to ask! I'll try to be as helpful as possible! (Teacher's Job) HAHAHA

For business please contact me here: [email protected]
Online Portfolio: http://meek-arts.tumblr.com/

THANKS FOR CHECKING MI BLOG!

MEEK

Sort:  

Cool, but please do not use the introduceyourself tag for stuff like this.

Copy! :D hahaha auto tags hahaha sorry for being lazy XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50