Valparaiso Street Art: A Colorful Picture Story

in #art8 years ago

To tell you the truth, I'm no art enthusiast. I don't like museums, or medieval architecture, let alone abstract paintings. Yet, when I first arrived to the Chilean port city of Valparaiso, I realized that the combination of  architecture and painting was actually amazing. So let me take you for a creative walk through the colorful anarchic hills of Valparaiso. 

A spontaneously made up picture story

It all starts in front of a closed gate.

Once entered, there is a long flight of stairs.

A cat is guiding your way.

It seems like it never ends.

Once on top, a weird creature greets. 

Suddenly, it starts to rain.

The streets fill with water.

Shelter we seek.

The kings stop the rain and begin to reign.

The garden thrives, ...



... and birds flock in.


Evolution at play.

Megafauna evolves.

Ever bigger they get.

They don't fit the cages.

But then you face a choice.

The future is peaceful, ...

... and bright.

And we coexist in happiness.


If you like it, feel free follow me @mcsvi :-)

Sort:  

it is so amazing to see through your eyes, a culture in which art is just part of the culture of everyone. it is not used to divide people, but to unite people as all one in life - here in Denver, CO the public art is "fuck you" art of museums - it is completely un-understandable - and the public art is put in poor areas and it seems to mock the people who live here - in the museum is more "fuck you" art. I went to art school and studied "fuck you" art - "conceptual" art and I did heART art and was mocked - but in cultures like Chile - that are less "civilized" which I think means has less "division" - art is an expression of joy - it's part of the meal - like it's the salt and pepper - or it's cooked in with the food like curry - without it the food would be bland.

Yes it's really inspiring, somehow representing the world as it should be :-)
You should definitely go there - and that's just a tiny fraction.

Cool art! I like the slogan "We are not hippies we are happies"

excellent photography, photo night I stay well

Valpo has an amazing history, as well as some incredible art in some areas. Thanks for sharing.

Lovely stuff. I've always wanted to go to Valparaiso since I read it in a poem many years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57