The Sky Is A Neighborhood - Songs Into Art #1.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

For a long time I have been having this idea, but I never went forward, until this weekend when I decided I was ready for it.

I want to create my own series of posts, where I can explore this idea, I want to create drawings based on songs, it can be based on the song title, an extract of the lyrics, a part of the musical video, or even the way the song makes me fell; basically, my limitation could only be my imagination.

I’ll start this series with a song I’m hook on, the song is "The Sky Is A Neighborhood", by Foo Fighters, one of my favorites bands (so you might see them again).

IMG_20180403_0111042.jpg

A Little About The Song:

Artist: Foo Fighters.
Album: Concrete And Gold.
Year: 2017.
Genre: Rock.

"Just imagining all of these stars as places that have life on them as well, and I decided that the sky is a neighborhood, that we need to keep our s--t together in order to survive in this universe full of life."
Dave Grohl.

Fun fact #1: The song was recorded in an afternoon.

If you want to listen to the song and watch the video, you can click here.

Fun Fact #2: The official video of the song was directed by Dave Grohl and the two little girls on it are his daughters.
As far as the inspiration for the drawing, I didn’t use it the lyrics (maybe for a second try?), I was more inspired by the title of the song, I just imagined “The Sky Is A Neighborhood”, like an actual neighborhood floating in the sky. I imagined a portion of the ground snatched from the earth and floating in a bright sky. This section of the ground is composed by colorful houses and trees,

The Process:

I put a little architectural touch to it. I added a few elements from the way we (architects) draw our blueprints. I drew the house as facades, the part where the ground is cut, I drew it as a “cut section” and the trees were panting as the way trees are expressed in architectural drawings.

IMG_20180401_144512.jpg

IMG_20180401_145822.jpg

IMG_20180401_150848.jpg

A close up.

IMG_20180403_011241.jpg

Excuse my horrible hand lettering, I'm working on it.
IMG_20180402_223648.jpg

This self-challenge is a motivation to keep drawing and cultivate my creativity, it was really fun to do it. I already have a list of songs I have been wanting to draw and I hope you stay around to check my future posts.

Comments and suggestions are very welcome.

Thank you for passing by and reading my post.

Sort:  

A wonderful idea and good art . I impressed your art skill . I dont know about drawing . Thanks a sharing good post . @mbell
Stay blessed and Steem on .
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

Thank you for passing by!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Wow! @mbell, I love this great idea, we are surely going to enjoy it. You have awesome drawing skill. I also love the song which has beautiful meaning. Great job @mbell. I’m very much impressed.😊
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it.

Oh wow @mbell, your drawing is awesome and while reading your post, I listened to this Foo Fighter's song and felt how it relates while watching your artwork. The sky and the neighborhood in your drawing are living up to the song. Your handwriting is fine, no worries about that.
Yes, it's an awesome idea... songs and drawings are fine art that can match finely. So go ahead and please continue your work. I pray that one of these days all these drawings will make you a famous and rich artist. You got a talent! Take care and stay blessed.
PS: I will copy this comment to HHG6.

Thank you! You are so sweet! I'll take my weekends to make progress in this idea... and to practice hand lettering haha

@mbell
Your creativity ceases to amaze me. It is funny because I thought of putting two songs together as if the lyrics are having a conversation, I thought it would be pretty funny depending on the songs chosen.But this is really cool I am glad you tried it out.
ps. copying to HHG6

That sounds amazing!!! You should do it, I can't wait to see what will you do and the songs you will pick.

@mbell - Very creative and indeed innovative. May you work grow from strength to strength!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50