To use photo reference when creating a painting!

in #art8 years ago

Even thou I prefer to work from life when I paint my paintings most of the time lately I've been working from photographs. This painting was made from a photo reference, thou my main aim was not just to directly copy what I saw. Instead I wanted to use the photo as a foundation from which I could build my own vision.

Before I started this painting I knew I wanted to paint a sunset. I wanted it to be a serine, calm sunset with a cool sky instead of one of those warmer more fiery versions.
I chose the picture I did because I liked the composition of the horizontal lines and because of the way I felt the foreground were inviting you into the painting through the footsteps in the sand. It has calm colors and a hazy light with little contrast which I think adds to the feel of calm.
I chose to remove the person in the picture as I felt it would take too much focus from the sunset itself. In addition I chose a slightly cooler color palette and simplified the footsteps a lot. This was because I wanted the sun to be the main focus.

One of the reasons why I worked from photo reference in this case was the short time of this special light is in the sky. The sun sets incredible fast and even faster when you are trying to paint it! This beach in particular,Praia do Guincho, also has the reputation for being extremely windy, and it's not very nice getting sand stuck in your painting and have your easel fall over when you are working.

Lastly, some process shots.

Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @mayasky. How very kind of you to walk us through the thought....motive....decision...action of your artistic journey. Lovely painting....of 'imagination and taste'. All the best. Cheers.

Thank you dear @bleujay! It is my pleasure, glad you enjoy. :)

Very nice. I like the photo too. I love interesting lens flare:)

great work - had to keep checking which was the photo and which was the painting!
thanks for the share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60