''There once was a horse'' - oilpainting by @mayasky

in #art7 years ago

Good evening!

Today I an sharing a painting that I made a couple of years ago when I was living on a small island in the West of Norway.

One day I was out walking and I came across this horse skull hanging on an old wooden shed.

I never painted an animal skull before but I found this one quite beautiful in a strange way..

Seeing it hanging there it hit me how we all are just here for a short time and how, once this horse probably was running around on this island just as I was walking it now.

It just filled me with such appreciation for life and being where I was in that exact moment that I decided to go back and paint it the next day.

And so I did and here is the result;

21442126_1641839892503973_1954362212_n.jpg

There once was a horse, oil on panel 0 x 25 cm

Hope you're all good and enjoying this wonder that is life! <3

20668110_1612540948767201_752565352_n.jpg

Sort:  

I absolutly adore this piece! I love the contrast between light and dark and its just so beautiful!!!

Aww, thank you so much @justaboutart! :D That makes me happy! ^^

excellent work! As you wrote, this horse skull is quite beautiful in a strange way! ^_^

Thank you so much @silviabeneforti! :D yes, it sure is! ^^

I've always loved skulls. There is something morbidly beautiful about them. This is a beautiful painting of one! I really like the depth and texture of the wood too.

Thank you very much @offbeatbroad! :D That is the perfect way of putting it; morbidly beautiful! <3

Beyond the skull concept, I can also see a person walking down a hall. Really interesting, I like it a lot.

Thank you @siucatti! :D A person walking down a hall? :D Wow, you have to help me see that one ;)

Well, I see it in the shadow that forms on the center of the skull :p.

Wow this is PURE Genius of a work !!

Thank you very much sweet @blazing! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48