The process from today's portrait painting - original oil painting by @mayasky

in #art7 years ago

Hello everyone!

Today I started a new little portrait painting.

This time I went about it a bit differently than I usually do and took some photos to show how my painting came along.

IMG_20180227_183501.jpg
This is the painting so far. It measures 20 x 30 cm and was painted on a gesso primed panel.

So today I decided to start painting right on a white background. I usually put a first layer down of a neutral midtone value that gives me a place to expand my lighter and darker values from, but today I wanted to give this way a try.

IMG_20180227_184623.jpg

IMG_20180227_184550.jpg

This is how I started the underpainting. I went in with a couple of brushes and some paper towels and put in the big proportions. In the first stage I like to work quite soft and I go over my lines a few times with the paper towels to smoothen them.

IMG_20180227_184514.jpg

When I am more sure of the drawing I put in some harder darker lines to give me some solid reference points. Still keeping the underpainting quite simple this time.

IMG_20180227_184445.jpg

For this painting I didn't premix any colors. I just mixed them with my brush on my palette. If your just starting out with oil painting I wouldn't recommend it as it can create quite a mess, but today I didn't have much time to spend as premixing does require some, and I wanted some results before my natural light disappeared.

IMG_20180227_184413.jpg

Now, I know she looks quite orangy and wierd, but this is because I don't have a midtone reference to put it into context. This can be one of the tricky things with painting on a white background if you don't know your values. Often you'll be tempted to go too light in the beginning because you only have the white to compare with and everything will look like it lacks a bit of light compared to pure white, right?

IMG_20180227_184327.jpg

Here you can see it after a pit a thin layer of Payne's grey in the background. I didn't put more light values in the face, just includes the background. It's funny how values and colors change depending on what is added or subtracted from the canvas.

IMG_20180227_184246.jpg

Some darker values have been added to the hair and shadow shape on her face and neck. I added some red in her lips to make her skintone less orange and I'm also starting to model the form more.

IMG_20180227_184140.jpg

Here some darker notes have been added to expand the value scale. Also, the modeling of form continues.

IMG_20180227_184053.jpg

Some softening and brightening of the values around her eyes and that sums up the painting session for today!

IMG_20180227_183354.jpg

IMG_20180227_183654.jpg

Hopefully I will be able to continue with this painting tomorrow! 🖌

What do you think?

I hope you are all having a wonderful start to the week!

❤💜💙💚💛

Sort:  

Stunning outcome! Process steps are great, thanks for sharing :D

Thank you @joxus! :D My pleasure, glad you liked them! :)

This looks so surreal confident strokes , you are gifted .
Can we be friends and help each other grow???
I too make art .
This is one my work please let me know your thoughts if time allows.
IMG_20180205_224135.jpg

Dude this is really good. What medium did you use ? follow me and lets share each others work :)
I have you an upvote

We are on then .
Mixed media I did on this one artline pencils polychoroms penckls , sketch pens and watercolour.

Awesome art work :)

Thank you!! :)

Youre welcome miss @mayasky

This work is wow...so creative...i wish you can paint me some day.

Heheh, thank you so much @mrxplicit! :) Maybe I can ;)

Gr8 work! Resteemed.

Thank you very much @invariable.muse! Appreciate it! :D

Oh, i am so glad i found you!
You are very talented , i love this painting of yours!
Congratulations! :-)
follower.jpg

Thank you so much @agneslaczo! :D How sweet you are, I appreciate it! :D

Great work, I love it

Thank you!! :D

This is pure magic. Seeing your painting unfolding is a bit like watching the grand master creating his creation. I am looking forward to see the finished work. Good luck!

Aw, thank you so very much for your kind words @johano! :)

@mayasky you beauty<3 you nailed it head to tail awesome really don't have words always stay happy :)

Thank you SO much for your super sweet comment @samriamelissa! :D <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87