''The magic hour'' - original oil painting

in #art7 years ago

Today I am sharing an oil painting of a seascape I made last year.

It has been a long time since I painted with oils as the past year has been spent re discovering watercolor and learning etching.

9. The magic hour, oil on panel.jpg

I find is quite curious how one can be so inspired when it comes to creating in one medium but not another. When I look at my old paintings made in oil, I like them, yet I don't have any want at the moment to paint an oil painting!

Do you ever switch between mediums? And do you find that some subject matters are better fitted for certain types of mediums than other?

For exaple these past months I've really wanted to create pieces portraying animals, but I find that they are SO much easier to make in etchings/ drypoint than in oil painting or even watercolor.

I guess whatever feels best, just do it right? :)

If I only had to pick one medium to work with for the rest of my life at this point thou, I actually do think I would chose oils. I know I will get back to working with it one of these days and hopefulle having some new experience with different mediums will help me develope my skills.

Anyways, just the thought of today! ;)

Hope you're all having a good and relaxing Sunday!

20668110_1612540948767201_752565352_n.jpg

Sort:  

beautiful seascape! you should do some aquatint, and spit bite, on your etchings. i think the technique would fit your style!!

Thank you very much @shae-meyer! :) I have actually been thinking of trying out some aquatint, funny you should say that ;) I love the effect of it and I agree, I think it would fit my style. Or.. I hope, heheh..

:) i think it would! and if you are into water color you will like spit bite, its kind of like painting blind on a copper plate. good luck on your ferric excursions, and keep up the good work!

That is a beautiful painting that looks photo-realistic. Looks just like an ideal beach. Great work!

Thank you so very much @kenny-crane! :D

It looks like an real beach. Excellent job!

Thank you so much @nirob! :)

Is that a painting ???? or a real photo :O

Heheh, that is a painting @blazing ;) Thanks for commenting! :D

i am amazed :D

Excellent work! I'd upvote, but you would not benefit from it since it is after the 7 day payout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65