Quick watercolor portrait even thou I'm not supposed to..

in #art7 years ago

Hello and good evening,

For the past couple of days I've been on a forced working break as I was starting to feel the effects of my past weeks constant painting frenzie...I never considered myself a workoholic, but I guess loving what you do and being your own boss is the perfect recepie for creating one.

So, for the past two days I've been mainly netflixing and sleeping, which has been nice enough, but I have missed my painting.

Today was a pretty chill day but then I wanted to paint so much that I gave myself a couple of hours to see how far I could make it on a portrait I've been thinking about for a while.

Here's the result;

20622686_1609780089043287_1514155113_ob.jpg

20622686_1609780089043287_1514155113_o.jpg
Painted on hahnemuhle bamboo paper with Gansai Tambi watercolor paints.

Even thuo when the two hours had passed, I wanted to continue, I was a good girl and packed up my stuff.

Time just goes too fast when your in the zone doing what you love and to me my painting has never really been considered a job. All though it is a passion and a lifestyle I guess I have to come to ends with the fact that it IS also a job. And I need to be better at setting healthy working hours and give myself some good rest.

Like anything, creating requires balance.

And so, for the rest of my evening I'll be chilling with the last few episodes of OZARK.

Has anyone else seen it yet, btw?

I'm so hooked and loving it! If you haven't seen it yet, I definitely recommend it! ;)
Sort:  

Going through your posts, I really appreciate what you do :)

I just resteemed this one at the Steemit Gallery of Art. A place to showcase and reward artists according to what the community likes the most. Find out more here, leave your feedback and support if you like the project :)

post card1.png

Well... I'll be watching the last episodes of Ozark too...

And some good opinions in the article.

Ozark! :D Thank you for taking the time to read and comment @maxjoy!

So pretty! I'd love to see a bit of your process for doing portraits in watercolor. I feel like it's one of the trickiest combinations. But you are getting some very lovely results.

Good job taking some rest time. It can be a real challenge! I usually feel like there aren't enough hours in the day to get the basics done, let alone any "self care". lol

Unfortunately, I know the time restriction all too well. Right now my only uninterrupted art time is during my toddler's nap. 90 min is not very long when you're getting into the zone.

Hey @offbeatbroad! ^^ Thank you so much! :D Yes, I try to be good at taking process photos, but lately I've just gone into my zone and forgotten all about it before its too late. But! Today I made a new watercolor portrait where I DID take quite a few process shots, so tomorrow I'll write a good one ^^

It CAN be quite a challenge!! Hahah.. Thank you for recognizing that! :) That has been my constant challenge these past weeks, that I feel like the days are not long enough.. Self care has for sure been under prioritized but then it just gets to that point when your're like, ''Hold on.., for this painting thing to be enjoyable, I need to put in time for some good old re-charging, self loving, be out among the trees and birds time'' ;)

And 90 min, that is not very long indeed... ;) But! We all take what we get right? :) And having a little one, that must be THE most amazing thing^^

Awesome! I will definitely have a look at it!
Yes, anything is better than nothing, for sure. My kids are pretty amazing (most of the time. ;) ) I think it's just a matter of figuring out what your biggest priorities are, and most of us seem to forget to prioritize ourselves until we are reminded to. :)

How lovely I really enjoy the topic of blues in the shadows there.

Thank you @ladygray! :D Hapy you noticed the blues ... ^^

you are a professional such cool arts :)

Thank you so much @blazing! :D

I don't know why but I was Netflixing too, weakness just covered me and I was too sleepy all the time lol.

Heheh.. Netflix really is the best in times of weakness ;)

Healthy work limits with painting??? What are you talking about? Painting is life! =)

Hahaha... I couldn't agree more.. But unfortunatly I need time and energy to function in other aspects of my life as well.. ;P

You mean like eating and sleeping? =)

I know the feeling, I'm at this moment trapped studying for exams and can't squeeze any time for painting, it makes me anxious. Beautiful watercolor, btw 😉

Thank you so much @siucatti! ^^ Ai ai ai.. I can imagine!! Hold in there ;)

This is a fantastic piece of art, you are very talented! Congratulations on realizing your passion can financially support you. Hope to see more work from you in the future and going to start Ozark now!

Hey @jawsh! :) Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and for your compliments! ^^ Aw! Great! Hope you'll enjoy it. I just finished it myself and had a blast watching the last couple of episodes! ^^

Very nice drawn! :-)

Thank you so much @art-universe! ^^

You're welcome! upvoted and I will follow you now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49