Peackock print 1 reinforced!

in #art7 years ago

Good Friday!

Today I want to share another drypoint I made the other day.
This print is a reinforced version of the peacock print I shared a little while back.

After the first printing session I realized that the engravings in the copper plate were too weak so they didn't hold as much ink as I would like. I there for spent a couple of days going over my lines and adding some more to enhance the form.

I ended up being MUCH happier with the new results so I thought I would share them.

Here is the new version;

23468416_1700428186645143_1206620645_o.jpg

And here is the old version vs the new;

Uten navnmnm.png

I do think I prefer a lighter blue more close to the first print in the final product though.. And I will still work some more on the inking, making the final print a bit more contrasty. But! I do like the organic feel in the new version.

In the old version I think the peacock looked a bit too cut out in the front and the feathers in the background were a bit too soft and lost.

What do you think? :)

Which blue do you prefer? Do you have any other color prefrences or ideas about what could improve the print?

Hope you're all having a good start to the weekend!

<3

20668110_1612540948767201_752565352_n.jpg

Sort:  

Nice. New version is better than old version.

Thank you @nirob! :) I am happy you prefer the new version! ;)

Actually the new version seems to be so real! Thats way I chose new version @mayasky

That is a tough call... I like them both for different reasons. I like the softness of the first, and how the head/neck sort of stands out, while the feathers almost appear as a soft background, rather than part of the main image, like a high aperture photo. And I'm quite partial to teal, myself.
I like the second, for the higher contrast, and the fact that now the whole bird appears more in focus... you can see much more of the detail now. Which is great. Just a different feel than the original.

Hi @offbeatbroad! Thank you for your great comment! :) I agree, they have different qualities. I think the new version needs some better inking and maybe also some more engraving around the body/head in the foreground.. Just to make it pop a little bit more ;) Hmm... Let's see what happens! :)

very nice print and very good drawing! upvote and follow you!
feel free to visit my blog with my art and photos!

Thank you so much @prostosun! :) And thanks a bunch for your follow, I appreciate it ;) I will check out your blog :)

I actually kinda prefer the first print, I like how the color fades to white, it's like there's more tone. I think the second print, with its sharper look would be sweet in Black. Great work

Thank you for your thoughts @erlankslabs! :) I agree on the tone part of the first print which is why I for sure will work on my inking technique on the new version. :) That is interesting that you say black actually, I was thinking initially that I did NOT want black, hahah, but you know what I think it would be pretty sweet actually ;) Thanks again! :)

Pleasure @mayasky! haha, yeah, arts so subjective tho, guess that's why a second opinions nice sometimes ;) look forward to seeing more of your work!

very nice that's looks cool

Thank you so much @blazing! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43